Book #45 Release

Ready for our next summer read? Of course you are! So now let’s dig into Lust, Loathing and a Little Lip Gloss by Kyra Davis, another Chicken Lit’er long-time favorite author. With a 5-star rating on BarnesandNoble.com, readers say this book is:

Another Wonderful Sophie Katz Installment… Best One Yet!… and Another Winner!

So again, let’s see what Sophie Katz is up to by picking up a copy and diving in. Then don’t forget to post your opinion on the book #45 web page under ‘Books‘ in the right-hand sidebar. Chocolates to be served.

30 Responses to Book #45 Release

  1. maksbestfriend says:

    Don’t hate me, but I am already up to pg. 79! This book is very well written!

  2. No haters here, @Becca. 🙂 I’m only on pg 10 and can already tell this book is ‘well written’, too. I just love Kyra’s voice in the way she writes.

  3. ginabeana says:

    Krya! Count me in…I’ll have to buy this one over the weekend.

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    Yay! Ginabeana! You rock! Another person to read with!

  5. Ditto to that ‘Yay’! 🙂

  6. ginabeana says:

    I had to order the book online, but I should be getting it today. Feel free to discuss it, I’ll jump in and discuss when I read some chapters. Can’t wait!

    How are you guys liking it so far?

  7. This book is awesome so far. (Just starting ch 4 here.) Something fishy is going on, and I sense that Scott is behind it!

  8. maksbestfriend says:

    I just started ch.7. I definitely think that Scott has something to do with it, but what about Kane?

  9. Both Scott & Kane seem to be pulling a fast one on Sophie… but her heart is in the house, and they know it.

  10. Never have I cracked up more after reading the phrase ‘YFB’… what did that bird see? BTW: I’m on ch 6.

  11. maksbestfriend says:

    That was really funny! I am now in ch. 10. It is a really good book. I am so stoked that Kyra commented on my blog. Now that was completely unexpected!

  12. maksbestfriend says:

    Hey just a heads up I am downloading the new Adriana Trigiani book on the 4th, “Viola in Reel Life”. We liked the first book we read, so I thought, why not? 🙂

  13. @Becca – Guess what? Funny you should mention that book, as I saw Trigiani on the Today Show, and the book is a Young Adult read. Still interested? I bet a certain Chicken Lit Girlie would like to join us on it… thoughts?

  14. maksbestfriend says:

    I saw that interview this morning, too! That is what sent me to Audible to see if it was an option! You should see all of her books that are available to listen to! Of course I am interested, are you? She writes really well, why not give it a go?

  15. Yes, I’m (WE’RE) interested. I just checked to see if the library had it… they don’t. But they do have a hold for me (The Time of My Life). I’ve suggested they purchase VIRL, but if they don’t – I’ll be visiting either Barnes & Noble, Books A Million, or Amazon.com very soon. 🙂

    Great suggestion – thanks again, Becca!

  16. ginabeana says:

    Ok, so I got my book yesterday and a pretty decent block of time so I dove right in! Couple my nice chuck of time with a few subway rides and I’m on Chp. 10 – YAY!

    So ladies, would you consider buying a home under Kane’s terms for that price (btw, NY real estate closely mirrors that of SF)?

  17. maksbestfriend says:

    God morning Gina!

    Not a chance! I wonder what Kane’s real angle is. Is he just quirky or does he have an ulterior motive? And Venus. She is definitely exhibiting stalkerlike symptoms.

  18. I just finished ch 8 and all I’m saying is NO. WAY. Ghosts creep me out, so I’d tell Scott & Kane to find someone else to join their creepy Specter Society.

    Those 2 guys are pulling a fast one on Sophie – and Anatoly seems to be the only one with a clear head. Why is Sophie so attached to that house? What does her mother know that she isn’t saying?

    And Venus? Another creepy one. What’s her story?

  19. ginabeana says:

    I think what would bother me more than the lifetime membership is the two week trial thing. I might consider joining the Specter Society Club (could be fun??) but I would hate to go through that two week probation term that Kane set up. Yeesh! Talk about walking on egg shells!

  20. maksbestfriend says:

    I am reading again! Yay!

    I just bought “Viola in Reel Life” and “Sheer Mischief” by Jill Mansell, both on Audible. The second book sounds like it is right up our alley as far as chick lit goes!

  21. @Becca – both of those books are now on our ‘Books’ page and on the way to my home. Will post the new releases after we wrap up LLAALLG.

    Meanwhile, the plot thickens! Where is everyone now?

  22. maksbestfriend says:

    I am almost through ch. 14. I am liking this book. I have been such a slacker these days. Trying to plan a trip to the east coast without breaking the bank has taken up a lot of time. Ugh. And I have an ex who apparently thinks that we can do this at the drop of a hat. 10 days back east with airfare, car, hotels and meals, is coming in at over $3k, if prices hold. But we are doing this for my son, so I not complaining.

  23. Sounds like you’re hardly slacking – my thoughts and prayers go out to you, your husband and son. I will curb my book purchases until further notice! What a blessing you are to A. Hang in there.

  24. maksbestfriend says:

    You don’t have to do that, reading is what is helping to keep me sane and keep me from misdirecting my temper when it gets the better of me. I am so looking forward to getting my Sony Reader. I have so many books! have I told you how much I like that you started this little group of ours? 🙂

  25. I’m honored that TCLBC has stood the test of time, much thanks to our amazing readers (like YOU!) We have a great thing going here, and with authors paying attention to our reviews – wow, gotta love it!

    As for the Sony Reader, can’t wait to read your review on it. Personally, I would like to test drive one for a few weeks before taking the leap. There’s just something special about that whole feeling of a brand new book in my hands that I’m not ready to give up… yet, anyway.

  26. I finished this book tonight while reading at my daughter’s cello lesson and found it to be a new favorite. Here’s my review:

    Sophie Katz strikes gold in this mystery/women’s lit thriller. The author, Kyra Davis, kept me guessing right up until the very end with twists and turns along the way! This novel is Davis’ best, by far, mixing themes of mystery, romance, family and non-stop action. 5 exuberant stars!

  27. maksbestfriend says:

    I am still working my way through it. Life is getting in the way, but I will finish it by the end of the weekend!

  28. ginabeana says:

    I’m finished and ready to discuss when everyone else is. Just give me a heads-up.

  29. maksbestfriend says:

    I finished this book last night. What a couple of twists and turns at the end of this book. First Venus, and then Kane and bugging the house and then being a complete freak, and then Lorna. That was the one that I did not see coming. What will Sophie get herself into next, I wonder? I am glad that she got the house before Kane got whisked away to jail! I loved this book!

Leave a Reply

