Book #44 Release

Ambitious readers, are we? Absolutely! Because here we go with the third summer read, Dune Road by Jane Green. The book is described as:

Dune Road is another fun and fearless adventure that will take Green’s many fans from laughter to tears and back again.

We Chicken Lit’ers are all about tears and laughter, book-wise. So get your copy, the post your take on the book #44 web page under ‘Books‘ in the right-hand sidebar. Cookies and tea optional.

24 Responses to Book #44 Release

  1. A few more books found their way home with me from Books-A-Million today:
    ‘Lust, Loathing and a Little Lip Gloss’ by Kyra Davis
    ‘Death by Cashmere’ by Sally Goldenbaum
    ‘Thanks for the Memories’ by Cecelia Ahern

    Any interest?

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    In a few weeks probably. I have to lay low until we clear up a credit card and then I will go looking for these. You know that I am always interested. I am taking Dune Road with me this weekend on the off, and I do mean off chance, I get 20s girl finished. πŸ˜‰

  3. No worries! It’s always nice to know we have a few out there on our waiting list. We’ll never run out at this rate.

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    Guess what I ordered tonight…on my anniversary no less…

    Thanks for the Memories: A Novel
    Time of My Life: A Novel
    Lust, Loathing and a Little Lip Gloss
    Death By Cashmere: A Seaside Knitters Mystery

    Guess I am a good wife? πŸ˜‰

  5. Excellent! What a great way to celebrate your anniversary. I’m sure hubs wants you to be happy on such a joyous occasion. πŸ˜‰

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    I started ch. 8 last night. Where are you at?

  7. in the middle of ch 8 here. This book hits home with me, mostly with youngest child in preschool days – similar to Charlie. But I digress.

  8. maksbestfriend says:

    Oh no. You can’t say that and digress. Email me? You have me very curious. Can you tell I got some serious reading done last night?

  9. You have been reading! Tomorrow I’ll send the scoop via email – gotta finish He’s Not That Into You w/hubs tonight, then it’s ME. DAY. FRIDAY. πŸ˜€

  10. I’m on ch 12 and get the feeling Steve is too good to be true. Thank goodness for Edie, otherwise Kit might find trouble… is it just me?

  11. maksbestfriend says:

    I am still in ch. 8. I am going to be reading a lot this week. Hubs is teaching M, T, W nights this week. So I have lots of quiet time. She is really new to the dating scene, so I do expect some misfires, do you think?

  12. maksbestfriend says:

    Hi there, I just started ch. 16!!! Wow! That is all that I have to say!

  13. maksbestfriend says:

    I am calling it a night, but wanted to let you know that I am up to and into ch. 25! This an awesome book!

  14. Currently at ch 20… catching up to you!

  15. maksbestfriend says:

    What do you think of the book so far? I do think that there is something off about both Annabel and Steve. Tracy, ohhh I just don’t like her attitude. I hope she changes her ways.

  16. I get the feeling they’re both con-artists and Kit is letting them into her world way too easily. Something is going down, but what? I have one theory… not going to say right now though.

    Tracy? She’s going to fall hard, I suspect. But will it be at Robert’s expense? Jane Green has woven quite a web in this novel.

  17. maksbestfriend says:

    Hey have you read “Time of My Life” yet? Can we make that the next book if you haven’t?

  18. maksbestfriend says:

    Or Lust, Loathing and a Little Lip Gloss?

  19. My vote is for LL&LLG – although, TOML is on my wish list. Great suggestions!

  20. maksbestfriend says:

    That works for me! I thought that you had TOML..you must get that one..that is my book challenge for you…are you up to the task? πŸ˜‰

  21. maksbestfriend says:

    This was an awesome book! I would give this a strong 9 because I like her writing style and the way that she brings life to her characters! The end did not come as dramatically or with as big a climax as thought that there would be. I kind of thought that it could have been a bigger bang reveal at the end with there being so many different twists going on all at the same time, but it just seemed to fall flat a little? Am I off base on this ending? But all in all another very good book by Jane Green!

  22. @Becca – I realized why you thought I had TOML! Awhile back, I checked it out from the library and started it… and returned it. But yes, I’ll get a copy again. πŸ™‚

  23. Spoiler Alert: Done – a solid 9 from me too, Becca! I loved the twists and turns, but the Tracy/Jed/Steve situation became only too obvious by the time I reached Ch 20. No surprises in ch 28 – bummer. Anyway, this was one of Jane Green’s best works – she’s amazing with words.

Leave a Reply

