Book #38 Release

Are you ready for yet another new author? We thought so, which brings us to our book #38 selection titled The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Reviewers give this debut a thumbs-up, stating:

In The Help, Kathryn Stockett’s button-pushing, soon to be wildly popular novel…The two principal maid characters…leap off the page in all their warm, three dimensional glory. Book groups armed with hankies will talk and talk…[A] winning novel. ~ The New York Times

We need to know if they’re telling the truth, don’t we? Absolutely.

Now all you need to do is download an audible, borrow a copy from the library, head on over to the local bookstore, or click on over to Amazon in support of our club: The Help. Then just keep an eye on the book #38 web page under ‘Books‘ in the right-hand sidebar for the discussion timeline.

Question: Are you a new CLBC reader? If so, you could win the next free giveaway!

11 Responses to Book #38 Release

  1. maksbestfriend says:

    I finally found my book! We switched rooms for our office and it was buried under stuff! I have all of my stopping points marked, so I am off to the sofa to read now! Yippee!

  2. Excellent! I started it today and love the whole ‘Baby Girl’ thing. Can’t wait to read on. 🙂

  3. maksbestfriend says:

    Ok, what page are you on? I am afraid to ask…

  4. Just nearing the end of the first chapter. And watch out… I have a commencement to attend tomorrow with CG playing cello. More reading time! 😉

  5. maksbestfriend says:

    I was up with Mitch last night while he worked a call until almost midnight before I crashed. I will try to get several chapters in this weekend. Don’t leave me too far behind!

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    I am up to page 40. I think that this is going to be another really good book, if the first 40 pages is any indicator…

  7. maksbestfriend says:

    Hi there, I just finished The Help. When you finish it let me know and we can talk about it?

  8. Will do! I’m just starting ch 9 right now. More sitting @Music Conservatory tonight will help. 🙂

  9. sarahpekkanen says:

    This is one I have to read — everyone keeps talking about it! OK, I’m a horrible book club member but I did just finish The Friday Night Knitting Club, which I know you all read forever ago, but I loved it! A shocker of an ending, but such a lovely book.
    And let me know what you guys think of Liz’s book — we have the same editor at Atria!
    xoxo
    Sarah

  10. maksbestfriend says:

    I loved this book. It took me awhile to read, but it was worth it to me to go all the way through it. Defifnitely difficult in places. But given the years in which it was set it is very well written.

  11. Just started ch 24 here and hope to finish it while sitting in the salon chair tomorrow morning. Such a great book that I keep wishing I could finish, but life keeps getting in my way, doggonit!

    @Sarah – So you loved TFNKC just as much as we did, eh? The ending was unexpected, the sign of a great author. How else could the rug get pulled out from under us so easily? Lovely indeed. And you have the same editor as Liz? Wow – do we know how to pick ’em, or what?

    BTW: Your latest newsletter is such a hoot! I had to re-read it for entertainment purposes. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what your photographer came up with after all that fuss. Bet it looks professional and amazing!

    @maksbestfriend – I’m worried about more of those ‘difficult places’ that might be sneaking up on me soon. This book continues to suck me in, despite the fact that I keep having to put it down.

Leave a Reply

