Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Reconstructing Natalie

So? Did you make it to the end of Reconstructing Natalie? Alrighty then! Let’s wrap it up and post our thoughts on these questions:

  • In the breast support group, Natalie meets and befriends a group of women, all very different from one another, who have this disease in common. Have you ever found yourself connecting with someone so different than you as a result of one shared experience? What lesson might there be in this?
  • Natalie’s cancer and treatment compels her to rethink her life and, as a result, make major changes. Has your life ever done a similar about-face due to a life-changing event?
  • Andy, Natalie’s neighbor and best male friend, is a rock for her throughout her treatment and yet, by the end of the book, their relationship has changed and grown into something deeper. Do you thank it’s possible for a man and a woman to be close friends without becoming romantically involved?
  • Jane is a kind and loving example of someone whose faith sustains her even through the darkest hours. Do you have that same kind of faith, and would it provide you comfort and hope if you found yourself in a situation similar to Jane’s?
  • Let’s rate it: How do you rate Reconstructing Natalie on a scale from 1-10 (1=horrific, 10=most excellent)?

Last but not least, what do you recommend for book #38?

3 Responses to Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Reconstructing Natalie

  1. In the breast support group, Natalie meets and befriends a group of women, all very different from one another, who have this disease in common. Have you ever found yourself connecting with someone so different than you as a result of one shared experience? What lesson might there be in this?
    In high school, while working at a restaurant as my first official job, I befriended an assistant manager named Chloe. We only shared one commonality which was working in that particular restaurant. She was in her 20’s, African-American, and married with a young child. Chloe and I shared many laughs and experiences at the restaurant as well as outside of work. For example, she gave me a complete “glam” makeover for prom, treated me with a surprise DQ ice cream cake on my birthday, and even attended my high school graduation as the only guest besides my mother. The lesson that I learned was never to discount the possibility of friendship, as it can be found anytime/anywhere as long as you are open minded.

    Natalie’s cancer and treatment compels her to rethink her life and, as a result, make major changes. Has your life ever done a similar about-face due to a life-changing event?
    My life did a complete about-face when hubs and I decided to start a family. We chose not to leave our children in daycare, so we decided that one of us would need to leave the full-time workforce. So I put my career on hold and stayed home full-time to get through 2 pregnancies and the first few years of our little one’s lives. Now, looking back to my college years, at that time I never dreamed that I’d have put my career on hold in such a way. Interesting how major life events alter a person’s thought process!

    Andy, Natalie’s neighbor and best male friend, is a rock for her throughout her treatment and yet, by the end of the book, their relationship has changed and grown into something deeper. Do you thank it’s possible for a man and a woman to be close friends without becoming romantically involved?
    Been there, and no, from personal experience I really do not believe a man and woman can be close friends without becoming romantically involved. Maybe that’s why I hoped they’d get together early on in the novel? They just seemed so perfect for one another. In any case, I loved how Natalie took the upper-hand and revealed her feelings to Andy in the end. Bravo!

    Jane is a kind and loving example of someone whose faith sustains her even through the darkest hours. Do you have that same kind of faith, and would it provide you comfort and hope if you found yourself in a situation similar to Jane’s?
    Yes, I do have that kind of faith, as it transformed me during the darkest of time in my life. Not only that, but it actually lead me to convert to Catholicism in the process. Spirituality does wonders for a person’s soul, especially during dark times.

    Let’s rate it: How do you rate Reconstructing Natalie on a scale from 1-10 (1=horrific, 10=most excellent)?
    This book is a superb mix of modern women’s literature, complete with romance and humor all wrapped up in one page-turning novel. I absolutely loved this book and give it a perfect 10!

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    In the breast support group, Natalie meets and befriends a group of women, all very different from one another, who have this disease in common. Have you ever found yourself connecting with someone so different than you as a result of one shared experience? What lesson might there be in this?

    Can I compliment you? For someone that I have never met in real life or real time, we seem to have the same values and morals in common. We don’t sweat the small stuff, and know that the little things in life mean the most. I can come to you in email and say I am having a crappy day, but hey I found this book and you share an enthusiasm for life that wonderful. I think that we would definitely be the Mutt and Jeff type of friend, you being the beautiful skinny, healthy chick and me being the fluffy fat chick! But it is about what is on the inside that counts, right?

    Natalie’s cancer and treatment compels her to rethink her life and, as a result, make major changes. Has your life ever done a similar about-face due to a life-changing event?

    When I decided that I had enough abuse from my now ex husband, I packed up my Ford Taurus wagon with just the important things to me, and I set out across America by myself. I had no idea where I would end up, but I was bound and determined to make a new life for myself. I did in November 1999. I would do it again.

    Andy, Natalie’s neighbor and best male friend, is a rock for her throughout her treatment and yet, by the end of the book, their relationship has changed and grown into something deeper. Do you thank it’s possible for a man and a woman to be close friends without becoming romantically involved?

    No, unfortunately, I don’t think that women and men can just be friends. I think that one or the other might want to be come emotionally involved. I just can’t get over how long it took them both to figure it out!

    Jane is a kind and loving example of someone whose faith sustains her even through the darkest hours. Do you have that same kind of faith, and would it provide you comfort and hope if you found yourself in a situation similar to Jane’s?

    I think that I do. I think that you learn to find your center of faith when you are at your most tested in life. You have to learn where that is for yourself. After what I have been through in my life, faith is very important to me.

    Let’s rate it: How do you rate Reconstructing Natalie on a scale from 1-10 (1=horrific, 10=most excellent)?

    10! Without a doubt! This is one of the best books that we have read. I loved that it had a serious faith/life changing aspect to it. I loved how everyone had to come to grips with their own notions of cancer and reconcile their feelings. And the humor and humanness was inspiring.

    Last but not least, what do you recommend for book #38?

    “The Girl Who Stopped Swimming” if I get it soon, or “The Help” and come back to the first if you would like?

  3. Thanks for those wonderfully kind words, @Becca. You’re right next to Chloe in my heart! As for book #38, let’s go ahead with “The Help” and then “The Girl Who Stopped Swimming” for #39. I’ll post soon!

Leave a Reply

