Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Summer Blowout

So? Finished yet? Alrighty then! Let’s move on with discussion #2 and “wrap up” book #35, Summer Blowout, with these questions:

  • Do you think it’s harder or easier to forgive a family member for a big betrayal than it is a friend? How do the rules of family and friendship differ?
  • How important is it in our contemporary lives to remain connected to our families?
  • Sean Ryan gives Bella the business idea of a lifetime. If you had to start a business tomorrow, what would it be? What’s stopping you?
  • Which scenes in Summer Blowout made you laugh the hardest? Brought a tear to your eye? Could have happened in your family?
  • Rating time: What is your rating for Summer Blowout on a scale from 1-10 (1=in the trash, 10=on a pedestal)?

With that, got any book suggestions for our next read? We’re all ears!

10 Responses to Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Summer Blowout

  1. Do you think it’s harder or easier to forgive a family member for a big betrayal than it is a friend? How do the rules of family and friendship differ?
    Forgiving others, whether they be family or friend, is more/less difficult depending on what needs to be forgiven. However, I do think forgiving family can be more difficult because they will always be a part of your life, no matter where you go.
    How important is it in our contemporary lives to remain connected to our families?
    Being connected to family gives a person a sense of history in the big scheme of things. In this novel, I can see that Bella’s family depended on one another in a bond that is stronger than I can wrap my head around. Seems like families rich in culture tend to stay connected in this way, which is refreshing in “contemporary society” with broken families being the norm.
    Sean Ryan gives Bella the business idea of a lifetime. If you had to start a business tomorrow, what would it be? What’s stopping you?
    Since I have a business that I’ve already started, if I were to start a new one it would move in a completely new direction, such as personal fitness training. Having no clear way of how to start that kind of business is keeping me from starting – in fact, I’ve scribbled notes to myself about doing a Google search for more information but haven’t actually taken the initiative. Maybe I should!
    Which scenes in Summer Blowout made you laugh the hardest? Brought a tear to your eye? Could have happened in your family?
    The scene with Bella and Sean Ryan dying Precious/Cannoli was right there at the top, and the scene with Lucky Larry Shaughnessy’s makeover very close behind. Made me want to ambush someone!
    Rating time: What is your rating for Summer Blowout on a scale from 1-10 (1=in the trash, 10=on a pedestal)?
    This book kept me guessing and giggling right up until the end, so I’m giving it a 9.5. Not the best novel I’ve ever read, but it does make me more interested in reading The Wildwater Walking Club next!

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I have 50 more minutes of listening time left and then I will post my answers. Sorry about the delay!
    🙂

  3. maksbestfriend says:

    Do you think it’s harder or easier to forgive a family member for a big betrayal than it is a friend? How do the rules of family and friendship differ?

    I think that it is harder to forgive family, because they are blood. You always have to deal with them on one level or another.

    How important is it in our contemporary lives to remain connected to our families?

    I think that it is important, if you have a healthy family base to build upon. If you have an unhealthy base family it is hard to keep those healthy connections. Look at the connection between Bella/Sophia. All it took was Craig’s indesicretion with Sophia or hers with him, dependent on how you look at the situation and something in that relationship will always be contaminated. That sense of trust is damaged if not broken.

    Sean Ryan gives Bella the business idea of a lifetime. If you had to start a business tomorrow, what would it be? What’s stopping you?

    I think that we should start a book review business, like you said! We sure do read enough. What is stopping us? The B&B Book Rebiew, catchy title!

    Which scenes in Summer Blowout made you laugh the hardest? Brought a tear to your eye? Could have happened in your family?

    The way that Larry proposed to his first wife at the end of his grandson’s wedding. Priceless!

    Rating time: What is your rating for Summer Blowout on a scale from 1-10 (1=in the trash, 10=on a pedestal)?

    This was a very funny book to listen to. I would definitely give this book a 9+. I think that it is one of the funniest, most heartfelt books that we have read/listened to in a very long time. I am definitely interested in listening to The Wildwater Walking Club next!

  4. @maksbestfriend – great comments, as usual! I’m thinking very seriously about ‘The B&B Book Review’. Hmmm… the wheels are definitely turning about that whole concept. 😀

  5. Will post book #36 release later today. Who has The Wildwater Walking Club? (I’ll post this question to the Facebook group, too.)

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    Good morning!

    You know that I have it! Ready when you are. I also have Reconstructing Natalie, too!

  7. I’ve got Reconstructing Natalie now. We should read that one next – looks like a really good read!

  8. maksbestfriend says:

    I have a feeling we might need tissues while reading this book. Or that is the feeling I am getting. Are you reading it already? 😉

  9. I started the first chapter… tears, yes. Exactly the reason I wanted to do TWWC before reading it. Too much sad health news in real life (daughter’s friend in hospital) to be reading it at the same time. Just call me Mrs. Sensitive.

  10. maksbestfriend says:

    How is she doing? Any better?

    I am about to fire my own doctor, long story.

    I am up to day 12 on TWWC, I think…

Leave a Reply

