Discussion #1: Summer Blowout

Alas! It’s time for discussion #1 for book #35, Summer Blowout by Claire Cook. If you have finished reading through chapter 16, we’d like to know your thoughts on these questions:

  • Which character in Summer Blowout did you most identify with, and why?
  • What needs are driving the affair between Sophia and Craig? (Okay, besides lust.)
  • Do you know a guy with a comb-over like Lucky’s? (Other than The Donald, of course.)
  • Even though he’s of Irish decent, Lucky Shaughnessy, the father in Summer Blowout, is a huge Italiophile. Do you think it’s common for someone of one ethnicity to think another culture is more glamorous?
  • Are you worried about the fate of Precious/Cannoli? Why do you think Bella fell so hard for the little pooch? Do you believe in canine love at first sight?

Well? Tell us!

6 Responses to Discussion #1: Summer Blowout

  1. maksbestfriend says:

    Which character in Summer Blowout did you most identify with, and why?

    Bella, because she always seems to be looking for something but not sure what that something is, and disappointed when she thinks she has found it. But I think that she might have found it in this new entreprenuer/friend.

    What needs are driving the affair between Sophia and Craig? (Okay, besides lust.)

    I think that Craig keeps seeing the $ signs and hoping to get his hands on the property. But he hasn’t managed to do that yet.

    Do you know a guy with a comb-over like Lucky’s? (Other than The Donald, of course.)

    I did until he got it cut yesterday, thank goodness. I don’t know what took him so long..

    Even though he’s of Irish decent, Lucky Shaughnessy, the father in Summer Blowout, is a huge Italiophile. Do you think it’s common for someone of one ethnicity to think another culture is more glamorous?

    I am sure that people look at other cultures and wonder what it is like to have this experience or that, but to the extent he does..his is over the top.

    Are you worried about the fate of Precious/Cannoli? Why do you think Bella fell so hard for the little pooch? Do you believe in canine love at first sight?

    I think that she fell so hard for the dog because it was something that she could love unconditionally and he really needed her. And she gave up so much for Craig and never had children. I do worry that she is investing so much emotionally in the dog that if something were to happen she will be devastated. I don’t know if I do or not, because I have never had a dog.

  2. I’ll be back to post mine soon… Kid Shuttle ensues!

  3. * Which character in Summer Blowout did you most identify with, and why?
    If I were back in my 20’s, I’d say that I mostly identified with Bella: Angry and Bitter. So glad to be over that stage, but makes for an interesting read nonetheless.

    * What needs are driving the affair between Sophia and Craig? (Okay, besides lust.)
    I’d say Sophia’s need to follow her sister’s footsteps and Craig’s need for a companion/caregiver are the driving needs in the affair. Seems to me that Sophia and Bella need to give Craig the boot and move on with their lives sans Craig. He should grow up and pay more attention to his children.

    * Do you know a guy with a comb-over like Lucky’s? (Other than The Donald, of course.)
    Thankfully, no. Most of the guys I know with hair loss shave their heads, a much better alternative over the comb-over look, IMHO.

    * Even though he’s of Irish decent, Lucky Shaughnessy, the father in Summer Blowout, is a huge Italiophile. Do you think it’s common for someone of one ethnicity to think another culture is more glamorous?
    Yes, I do think it’s common. A certain person in my family who shall remain nameless has an Italian father and German mother, but only acknowledges the Italian side. When you’re American, it’s difficult be only one ethnicity with the big melting pot of backgrounds.

    * Are you worried about the fate of Precious/Cannoli? Why do you think Bella fell so hard for the little pooch? Do you believe in canine love at first sight?
    Yes, I’m worried mostly because the owners were so odd that I wouldn’t put anything past them after they return from the honeymoon. Bella fell so hard 1) because the dog is so adorable and 2) she was feeling needy and hurt after being betrayed by her half-sister and husband. As for canine love at first sight, I haven’t experienced it personally but guess it could happen!

  4. @maksbestfriend – I just read your comments after posting mine, nice! You always notice things that I tend to overlook, another reason why I enjoy your comments. And wait… Mitch got a haircut and lost the comb-over? Bravo! 😀

  5. maksbestfriend says:

    Not a combover exactly…he has just been so swamped with work that getting his hair cut has not exactly been at the top of his priority list. He was starting to look like Grizzly Adams, what with his beard and the getting longer by the day. I finally got through to him by telling him that I could make a small ponytail with the hair at the nape of his neck. He went and got it cut. Worked for me!

  6. That’s funny! We’re having similar issues with the youngest who decided to grow his out this school year. The class picture came home yesterday and he said, “My hair is so long I don’t even recognize myself!” The oldest and I were like, “Really? You don’t say.” We got a couple of haircuts in over the year, but not without cattle prodding. 😉 Guys.

Leave a Reply

