Discussion #1: Belong to Me

Here goes discussion #1 for book #34, Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos. Before reading any further, make sure you’ve read the first 10 chapters so as to avoid those dreaded spoilers:

  • When we meet Cornelia’s neighbor Piper, she is commenting on Cornelia’s lawn and home, suggesting changes. How do you think Cornelia should have reacted? Have you ever had any similar experiences with neighbors?
  • Dev is embarking on a quest to find his father. How do you feel about Lake’s hiding of his father’s information from Dev? Is she being fair?
  • Do you think Clare and Dev’s relationship is an accurate depiction of first love? How does their relationship differ from the other romantic relationships in the novel? What do you think will happen between them in the future?
  • Cornelia compares life to the movies. What, if any, movie does the novel remind you of? To what movie(s) would you compare your life?
  • With Marisa de los Santos being our newest bookclub author, what are your thoughts on her writing style? Have you read any other novels by this author? Do you think you might be interested in reading more of her books?

Your turn!

6 Responses to Discussion #1: Belong to Me

  1. @all – currently working on my answers & will post soon! Can’t wait to read yours.

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I have a one more pages to read before I can comment…sorry… 😉

  3. * When we meet Cornelia’s neighbor Piper, she is commenting on Cornelia’s lawn and home, suggesting changes. How do you think Cornelia should have reacted? Have you ever had any similar experiences with neighbors?
    Cornelia’s outward self-restraint in her reaction toward Piper (besides calling her “Pepper”) seemed the best way to respond. Piper’s passive aggressive behavior is something I don’t recall experiencing with my own neighbors; but had I been in a similar situation, I would’ve reacted similarly – seething under the surface.

    * Dev is embarking on a quest to find his father. How do you feel about Lake’s hiding of his father’s information from Dev? Is she being fair?
    Like anyone else, Dev has every right to full disclosure when it comes to information about his father; unless, of course, the information is harmful to him. Lake seems to be a highly intelligent woman, so I think there must be an extremely good reason for her to be keeping Dev in the dark. But she has to know that her son is also a highly intelligent and resourceful young man who is capable of seeking out whatever it is he wants to know. She’s making a mistake by not telling him more – and I have a feeling her actions will come back to bite her.

    * Do you think Clare and Dev’s relationship is an accurate depiction of first love? How does their relationship differ from the other romantic relationships in the novel? What do you think will happen between them in the future?
    Absolutely, and I think the author’s ability to generate the “feel” of first love is commendable. Reading about Clare and Dev sends me back to early times in my life with similar experiences. Holding hands, the racing heartbeat, etc. My hope is that the couple will grow in friendship and progress toward something deep and long lasting.

    * Cornelia compares life to the movies. What, if any, movie does the novel remind you of? To what movie(s) would you compare your life?
    In a way, mostly due to the suburban setting and Piper’s bristly personality, the novel’s movie reminds me of The Stepford Wives. And without a doubt, my currently life movie would be National Lampoon’s Vacation. Earlier years compare more to The Amityville Horror.

    * With Marisa de los Santos being our newest bookclub author, what are your thoughts on her writing style? Have you read any other novels by this author? Do you think you might be interested in reading more of her books?
    So far, I am so impressed at how descriptive and yet smooth the author tells the story, even from more than one character’s perspective. She is able to create believable voices in situations that seem real to me. I haven’t read her previous novel, but any writer who can so easily weave words together in a touching story is a Must-Read-Author in my book!

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    When we meet Cornelia’s neighbor Piper, she is commenting on Cornelia’s lawn and home, suggesting changes. How do you think Cornelia should have reacted? Have you ever had any similar experiences with neighbors?

    I think that Cornelia handled Piper a whole lot better than I. I think I would have been far less gracious than she. But a part of me thinks that Cornelia should have stood up for herself and her property since Piper really was out of line. Kind of sorta on the experience. My husband’s first home was in a place that had HOA’s. And we even had to have the color of the flowers approved for the front yards! Annoying. Glad we left that. It seemed like small town politics at its worst.

    Dev is embarking on a quest to find his father. How do you feel about Lake’s hiding of his father’s information from Dev? Is she being fair?
    Do you think Clare and Dev’s relationship is an accurate depiction of first love? How does their relationship differ from the other romantic relationships in the novel? What do you think will happen between them in the future?

    I think that Lake in her own way is trying to give her son ways to find his father, but he is gone from the bike shop. I do think that she should have told him the story. I do think that she should have stayed in contact with her family, if not for her, for her son. I think she is in her own way trying to protect them both, but things have a way of changing in 14 years. I am not sure if Clare and Dev are first love, yet. Not enough of the story has been told. Seems like a couple of steps have been missed from that dinner to holding hands and boyfriend/girlfriend. Or maybe something as a mom I haven’t experienced. I think that they are very young and honest about everything with each other and events in their lives haven’t left their mark. Yet. I don’t know, but the title of the book is kind of telling. I wonder if Clare walks the life path of her mother? And Dev is there for her. Time will tell.

    Cornelia compares life to the movies. What, if any, movie does the novel remind you of? To what movie(s) would you compare your life?

    You know I wasn’t going to even say a movie, but a tv show, Desperate Housewives. My life? I have absolutely no idea. My life is really peaceful right now.

    With Marisa de los Santos being our newest bookclub author, what are your thoughts on her writing style? Have you read any other novels by this author? Do you think you might be interested in reading more of her books?

    No, I have not read any other books by her, but I have one more to read. I love how she is telling the story from multiple perspectives. It is helping to weave it all together for me. I am thoroughly enjoying this book!

  5. maksbestfriend says:

    Did you see this yet? From the woman who wrote Friday Night Knitting Club!!

    “Exclusive: I’m writing a new book!!!!!!!!
    And it’s a Knitting Club novel. Yes, I’m working on another adventure in the FNKC series. This latest story is called KNIT THE SEASON and it takes place a little over a year after the end of Knit Two. It’s really a celebration with the characters as the story spans the holiday period from Thanksgiving to Hanukkah to Christmas to New Year’s. Available on November 3, Knit the Season focuses on college-age Dakota and a holiday trip to see Gran in Scotland…and that’s all I’m going to say. For now! Stay tuned to my website: I look forward to sharing more details and the new cover later in the year.”

  6. We must add Knit the Season to our must-read list – can’t wait to read more about our knitter chicks!

Leave a Reply

