Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Knit Two

Guess what, Chicken Lit’ers? You got it – time for our second and final discussion on book #30, Knit Two, by Kate Jacobs. Shall we finish up with the rest of Jacobs’ reader guide questions? But of course:

  • Did Lucie make the right decision in not telling Will that he was Ginger’s father? Darwin advised her to “think long and hard before you throw a nuclear bomb into his happy family life.” Would you have thrown the bomb? Should Lucie have?
  • How would this story have been different if Anita had not been reunited with Sarah in Rome?
  • When she reaches out to K.C., Catherine tells her: “I’m still trying to define myself. I embraced my independence but somehow everything is just all about me. I am totally self-focused.” Do you think Catherine has “defined herself” by the end of the book?
  • After the flood at Walker and Daughter, Dakota and Peri decide to rebuild. Is this the right decision? How would their lives have changed—perhaps for the better—if they had not rebuilt the store Georgia founded?
  • In her acknowledgments, author Kate Jacobs says “Like the members of the club, I am fortunate to be surrounded by smart, independent women who come through for me whenever I need a helping hand.” What’s the “club” that fills that role in your life?
  • Now’s your chance to rate the novel. On a scale from 1 to 10 (1=completely horrid, 10=amazingly stupendous), what do you give Knit Two?

Post away – and why not give us a suggestion for book #31 while you’re at it? We’re all about welcoming suggestions, you know. Seriously.

10 Responses to Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Knit Two

  1. Here goes:

    * Did Lucie make the right decision in not telling Will that he was Ginger’s father? Darwin advised her to “think long and hard before you throw a nuclear bomb into his happy family life.” Would you have thrown the bomb? Should Lucie have?
    This question is hard to answer, but I’d have to say “yes” in the end. Will is an unwilling sperm donor/biological father, as opposed to an actual long lost parent to Ginger. I wouldn’t have told him if I were Lucie, but then again I never would’ve purposely put myself in her situation in the first place either.

    * How would this story have been different if Anita had not been reunited with Sarah in Rome?
    Anita would’ve let the idea of reuniting with Sarah rest, while Sarah would’ve lost the ability to track Anita after the sale of the apartment – a sad ending that I’m glad didn’t happen. The reunion was a much better surprise, one that brought everyone together in an unexpected way.

    * When she reaches out to K.C., Catherine tells her: “I’m still trying to define myself. I embraced my independence but somehow everything is just all about me. I am totally self-focused.” Do you think Catherine has “defined herself” by the end of the book?
    Yes, I think she finally found herself in her self-focused independence and stopped questioning her ability to exist without a serious relationship in the picture.

    * After the flood at Walker and Daughter, Dakota and Peri decide to rebuild. Is this the right decision? How would their lives have changed—perhaps for the better—if they had not rebuilt the store Georgia founded?
    Rebuilding was the best decision, one that I wanted to see happen. As I was reading about the big clean-up and the sadness everyone felt in losing Walker and Daughter permanently, my thinking was, “REBUILD! Make the store a new and improved version of the good thing everyone knew and loved so much!” Jacobs even took it a step further by fulfilling dreams in the process – Dakota with her baking, etc. As for how their lives would have been without the rebuild, I don’t even want to go that route with an ending so perfect. Why mess with a good finish?

    * In her acknowledgments, author Kate Jacobs says “Like the members of the club, I am fortunate to be surrounded by smart, independent women who come through for me whenever I need a helping hand.” What’s the “club” that fills that role in your life?
    I’m blessed to have a “club” of family, friends and religious-types (nuns, priests, religious education staff) who continually provide me with faith and direction. If I were writing a book, they’d all be in the acknowledgments – like a personal booster club of sorts. Gotta love that. 🙂

    * Now’s your chance to rate the novel. On a scale from 1 to 10 (1=completely horrid, 10=amazingly stupendous), what do you give ‘Knit Two’?
    I’m giving it a 9, which would’ve been higher if the beginning weren’t so slow. Perhaps reading about people who are in the process of grieving is just hard to get past? In any case, the ending made up for the slowness. I really enjoyed reading this book and was glad to have closure with the initial ‘Friday Night Knitting Club’.

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    * Did Lucie make the right decision in not telling Will that he was Ginger’s father? Darwin advised her to “think long and hard before you throw a nuclear bomb into his happy family life.” Would you have thrown the bomb? Should Lucie have?

    I think that Lucie did the right thing. She was not honest from the beginning and she could have destroyed a marriage. I would not have thrown the bomb It takes two to tango, but I am grown up enough to know that it is up to me to take care of my reproductive needs. I would have made sure it didn’t happen if I could have prevented it.

    * How would this story have been different if Anita had not been reunited with Sarah in Rome?

    I think that she would have still married Marty but a part of Anita would have always wondered what if. I think that it would have been hard to close that chapter. She is her sister.

    * When she reaches out to K.C., Catherine tells her: “I’m still trying to define myself. I embraced my independence but somehow everything is just all about me. I am totally self-focused.” Do you think Catherine has “defined herself” by the end of the book?

    I think that she did. She realized that she had to redefine her boundaries in her relationship with Marco. Take her time so that she doesn’t go all into a relationship and get so lost that she can’t make heads nor tails, like she did with Nathan. She invested so much of herself with him that she couldn’t see that she was just a rebound while he decided whether or not he was going to make it work with his wife.

    * After the flood at Walker and Daughter, Dakota and Peri decide to rebuild. Is this the right decision? How would their lives have changed—perhaps for the better—if they had not rebuilt the store Georgia founded?

    I think that this was the right decision. It is kind of sort of keeping the legend going, but switching it up to meeting Dakota’s needs in having the cafe and the knitting club, and letting Peri have her purse shop. And I think that it gives James a chance to be a part of both their futures in the architectural aspect. I think that it would have driven the group apart had they not rebuilt in some form or fashion. Their friendships have come too far not to have the gathering spots.

    * In her acknowledgments, author Kate Jacobs says “Like the members of the club, I am fortunate to be surrounded by smart, independent women who come through for me whenever I need a helping hand.” What’s the “club” that fills that role in your life?

    Of course the club for me is this book club and my circle of blogging friends who keep me buoyed when my spirits need a boost or life just get to me. My friends have been there for me through the good times and the bad, and I know when push comes to shove, I know that I can pick up the phone, or send a text and know that I have an ear when I need it. You can’t choose your family, but you can make a darn nice family out of your friends. Just pick well.

    * Now’s your chance to rate the novel. On a scale from 1 to 10 (1=completely horrid, 10=amazingly stupendous), what do you give Knit Two?

    I give this book a solid 9. I just can’t give it a 10, because it took me a solid half the book before the pages really started to turn. I think it was harder this time partly because of the grieving process involved and the fleshing out of the characters moving forward into their futures. It was very nice to see how it wrapped up the story of the Club. I would recommend this series.

  3. @maksbestfriend – I always get a kick out of your comments, and this one didn’t disappoint. 🙂 Bravo!

    So now about that book #31… B&N still hasn’t received my in-store order for ‘Very Valentine’. Shall we go for ‘True Colors’? Oh wait, I do know one NY, NY Chicken Lit’er is interested in ‘This Charming Man’ by Marian Keyes, a book that my local library is holding for me right now. What to do??? Help!

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    I don’t have that book yet…I can order it but it is going to take a few days to get here.

    Are my answers funny, off the mark? Odd? Explain, you have me curious!

  5. @maksbestfriend – your answers are thoughtful & poignant, and I’m especially agreeing with the ‘friends’ comment. So very true!

    BTW: Still undecided on #31…

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    Pick one dang it….I am going through book withdrawal…and I need something to read or listen to. I am about to start “Paging Aphrodite” if you don’t pick something. Don’t make me do something drastic! 😉

  7. @maksbestfriend – ok, ok… on that note, we’re going with True Colors by Kristin Hannah, mostly because it’s sitting right here staring me in the face. 😀 Go to it! (I’ll make the formal post soon.)

  8. maksbestfriend says:

    Who is our new reader? Will she introduce herself? Or do we already know her? I will be waiting for your schedule. Just give me the heads up and I am good to go.

    Go check out my eye doctor’s visit today. I have squarely landed in middle age. Thank goodness for eye insurance!

  9. @maksbestfriend – actually, I’m not aware of a new reader but I do know we have a new AUTHOR: Kristin Hannah! The timeline is up for you to see. I started reading the Prologue tonight. Whoa.

    Middle age? But you’re still just a kid! 😉 It’s all relative.

  10. maksbestfriend says:

    Oh I thought that we had someone from NY reading with us. I am going to get started after dinner. Chicken and veggies. 45 in April!

Leave a Reply

