Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Life’s a Beach

We made it to our second and final discussion of book #27, Life’s a Beach, and what a fun ride it has been, hasn’t it? Absolutely. So let’s finish this up right and see your final thoughts on this January-beach-read:

  • Do you think Ginger ended up with the person she was meant to be with? If you could date either Noah or the gaffer, which one would you pick and why? Do you think their characters are based on real men, and if so, do you think Claire Cook has their phone numbers?
  • Who is your favorite minor character in Life’s a Beach? Why?
  • Would you ever let one of your own children become a child actor? Why or why not?
  • Which scene in Life’s a Beach made you laugh the hardest? Which one brought a tear to your eye? Which one gave you the biggest jolt of recognition?
  • How do you rate this novel on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=terrible, 10=amazingly great)?

Which brings us to the final question – what’s next on our reading list? Knit Two is definitely out there, but how about if we wait until all of our Chicken Lit’ers are ready to move on?

Your thoughts?

3 Responses to Discussion #2 & Final Wrap-Up: Life’s a Beach

  1. Do you think Ginger ended up with the person she was meant to be with? If you could date either Noah or the gaffer, which one would you pick and why? Do you think their characters are based on real men, and if so, do you think Claire Cook has their phone numbers?
    I do think that Ginger ended up with the person she was meant to be with, even though it took the two of them a little while to realize it and consider a serious relationship. Given a choice between the two, I do think I would’ve chosen Noah for her – they understood & appreciated one another’s talents. For myself, well, the gaffer is very much more my type. (No wonder I’m an IT’er married to an Electrical Engineer!) Also, yes… Claire Cook could very well have been writing about existing men and has their phone numbers handy.

    Who is your favorite minor character in Life’s a Beach? Why?
    My personal favorite is Ginger’s Dad – he’s quirky and hilarious, the perfect comic relief in this novel. Although, I could’ve gone with one less “Toots” reference. They do have names, you know.

    Would you ever let one of your own children become a child actor? Why or why not?
    If acting were the ‘thing’ they truly wanted to do in life, then absolutely I would let one of my dearies pursue the field. As with anything else, you never know until you try – so why keep them away from something that could turn out to be the choice of a lifetime?

    Which scene in Life’s a Beach made you laugh the hardest? Which one brought a tear to your eye? Which one gave you the biggest jolt of recognition
    * I laughed most at the scenario with Ginger’s tables where Mom had taken it to the dump and Dad found it, thinking he would bring it home as a match. For some reason, the parents reminded me of Olive Oyle & Popeye – such a goofy/hip oddball couple, yet so humorous.
    * Tear to my eye? The closest thing would probably be the 50th birthday party for Ginger’s sister. Experiencing a job loss so close to the big birthday milestone had to be painful for her, and the party was the sweetest gesture of all – especially since the planning was initiated by Ginger’s evil archenemy, Allison. 😉
    * The ‘biggest jolt of recognition’ came to me while reading about Ginger’s experience as a Peeping Tom watching Noah create his glass masterpiece. At that point I realized Noah wasn’t just some immature dufus of a boyfriend that she needed to dump, but rather an artist hidden behind a rough exterior. She finally started to take him seriously and realize the potential for a long-term relationship, a good thing because she could’ve easily traded him in for the gaffer waiting in the wings.

    How do you rate this novel on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=terrible, 10=amazing)?
    This novel gets an 8 from me. I enjoyed it and will keep Claire Cook on my Must Read Author list!

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    * Do you think Ginger ended up with the person she was meant to be with?
    If you could date either Noah or the gaffer, which one would you pick and why?
    Do you think their characters are based on real men, and if so, do you think
    Claire Cook has their phone numbers?

    Kind of torn on this one. I think that either one would be good for her, but I do think that Noah is a good fit. I think that she has to stop with the grass is always greener attitude and running after the first argument with a guy. Life is never easy and arguments and disagreements happen and has had been pointed out to her several times in the book, it isn’t all just about her. She needs to learn to think about the other person in her life too, not just herself. To an extent, maybe. I have only been with 3 men in my life who am I to judge men’s characters.

    * Who is your favorite minor character in Life’s a Beach? Why?

    Riley! I think that little boy is a hoot! No explanation where he got his sense of humor from!

    * Would you ever let one of your own children become a child actor? Why or why not?

    Probably not. Having seen what has become of so many child actors, I think that I would want my child to have a grounded life, with all the normal things, not the hype that surrounds those children. Look at Miley Cyrus. No thanks. Maybe local acting, but not Hollywood, that is just not healthy for a child unless you are right there
    to manage everything.

    * Which scene in Life’s a Beach made you laugh the hardest? Which one brought a tear to your eye? Which one gave you the biggest jolt of recognition?

    What mad me laugh the most was when they were reading the book of all the high priced things to do! What made me cry was When Geri lost her job and it looked to her that her life was coming apart, that was hard, because I watched my life crumble once. Biggest jolt? That there was the point in the book when Ginger realized that she had to learn to let go of her preconceive notions of what a relationship should be
    and trust that Noah was exactly what she wanted and needed and that her life would work out as it should.

    * How do you rate this novel on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=terrible, 10=amazingly great)?

    9. I really did enjoy this book! I love the writing style and chapters were not overly long and the staged drama was kept to a minimum and the characters were nicely fleshed out. I would definitely read another book by
    this author!

  3. Dory says:

    * Do you think Ginger ended up with the person she was meant to be with? If you could date either Noah or the gaffer, which one would you pick and why? Do you think their characters are based on real men, and if so, do you think Claire Cook has their phone numbers?

    I think Ginger did indeed end up with the right person, although it took her quite a while to get there. I tend to be drawn toward creative minds so I guess I’d pick Noah too, for myself. Although the gaffer might be fun too! :o)

    * Who is your favorite minor character in Life’s a Beach? Why?

    I think Riley is my fave. He’s a DOLL! So quick and witty.

    * Would you ever let one of your own children become a child actor? Why or why not?

    Oh sure, if they really wanted to do it. I don’t think I’d push into that field though unless they seriously expressed the desire first.

    * Which scene in Life’s a Beach made you laugh the hardest? Which one brought a tear to your eye? Which one gave you the biggest jolt of recognition?

    Biggest laugh: I laughed out loud at Ginger walking the cat in the stroller, talking to him… and then realizing she’d better shut up before someone saw her and thought her nuts. I often talk to my dog as we walk and have the same fear!
    Tear: I really didn’t cry – although I was sad for Geri.
    Biggest jolt: I think the biggest jolt for me came when Ginger saw Noah walk in just as she was going to kiss the gaffer. After all that indifference he seemed to radiate – he really DID love her. Duh. Took me as long to figure it out as it did Ginger!

    * How do you rate this novel on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=terrible, 10=amazingly great)?

    I liked it… I think I’d give it an 8. Can’t wait til her next one! :o)

Leave a Reply

