Discussion #1: Hissy Fit

Now’s the time to open up discussion #1 of Hissy Fit. At this time, we will be chatting about the first third of the book from pages 1-141, or through chapter 24. And check this out – we’ve got pre-formulated questions from the ‘Reading Guide’ at the end of the book! So here we go with a few to help us get started:

  • What do you think of Keeley’s reaction to her fiance’s behavior at their engagement party? Does she do the right thing? How would you react in a similar situation?
  • Do you find it surprising that Will Mahoney is so determined to impress a woman whom he’s never met? Why?
  • Is the picture that Mary Kay Andrews paints of life and business in a small town a realistic one?
  • Here’s a new question: When Keeley first met and started getting to know Stephanie in Atlanta, did you think Stephanie seemed to be a likely match for Will?

Curious minds want to know your thoughts so far… post ’em right here!

13 Responses to Discussion #1: Hissy Fit

  1. What do you think of Keeley’s reaction to her fiancé’s behavior at their engagement party? Does she do the right thing? How would you react in a similar situation?
    Keeley’s angry/hostile reaction to finding her fiancé and best friend doing the wild thing at their engagement party is what I would expect from any living, breathing person with human feelings. However, acting out by physically destroying private property and threatening guests is definitely NOT the right thing to do. I can’t imagine ever being in that kind of situation, but in the unlikely event that I were faced with similar circumstances I would’ve left immediately, controlled my emotions, and then made a formal statement to the wedding party and guests cancelling the wedding. But that wouldn’t make good reading, now would it?

    Do you find it surprising that Will Mahoney is so determined to impress a woman whom he’s never met? Why?
    So far, Will seems to be a fly-by-night type who is used to getting what he wants, when he wants it. In which case, I don’t find it surprising at all that he wants a woman he hasn’t even met. She just another token to add to his collection.

    Is the picture that Mary Kay Andrews paints of life and business in a small town a realistic one?
    Very much so – in fact, I loved Keeley’s reference to the gossip spreading ‘Kudzu telegraph’. How true! Unfortunately, that same telegraph brought the news of Keeley’s erratic behavior to clients who turned away from her business, not surprising of small town life.

    Here’s a new question: When Keeley first met and started getting to know Stephanie in Atlanta, did you think Stephanie seemed to be a likely match for Will?
    Stephanie seems immature and superficial, qualities that are similar to what I’m picking up from Will. They might just make the perfect couple based on those personality traits, but it’s too early to tell at this point.

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    * What do you think of Keeley’s reaction to her fiance’s behavior at their engagement party? Does she do the right thing? How would you react in a similar situation?

    I think that I agree with you on her reaction, but then again her over reaction in destroying things, kind of, no, not kind of, does make her look like a diva in her own right, who is used to having her own way, and when not getting it is going to throw the “hissy fit”. I have never heard of a rehearsal party with so many people or so elaborate, either, but then again, look at the family she was going to be marrying into. All show, no substance, apparently. I would have walked away, but what she did to his car, well maybe…but I would have spelled it right…

    * Do you find it surprising that Will Mahoney is so determined to impress a woman whom he’s never met? Why?

    I am beginning to think that is not all it is cracked up to be. Yeah, he might have a crush on her, but I am beginning to think that Will is really doing this for Keeley, and maybe neither he nor she knows it yet. Time will tell. He is coming out of a relationship and of course Keeley is thinking all men, are well, you have read her thoughts..I am not sure that I see him as a token collector. I am hoping that I am right and you are wrong…heehee. I think that he has something deeper going on. Especially when he fixed that piece of machinery and made a lot of money. I think that there is something deeper to this man. We just haven’t seen it yet.

    * Is the picture that Mary Kay Andrews paints of life and business in a small town a realistic one?

    I would like to think not, but reality is probably closer to the truth. Sad that small town politics and grudges can ruin people’s lives. I am glad that I do not live in a small town.

    * Here’s a new question: When Keeley first met and started getting to know Stephanie in Atlanta, did you think Stephanie seemed to be a likely match for Will?

    I think that Stephanie is all about the money and the glamor and the prestige. I think that Will is going to see through her in a NY minute. I don’t think that he is as superficial as you do. I think that he is being really methodical in what he is doing. I think in a way, he is luring Keeley in. He is getting her to work on the big home, her touches, her designs. She is falling in love with the house, she has already said that. She will fall in love with the man. I think that is inevitable. She is putting so much of herself into this project, and I think that Will is in a way steering her to do just that. I almost think that the presence of Stephanie is just going to be a way to keep her on her toes.

    I do think that it was odd how she did so much research on Stephanie, buying the flowers, showing up at the office, parking outside of her home. Really, how many women would have really invited her in? Good for the story line, but in reality?

  3. Dory says:

    Just to add an element of surprise – as in…. I really CAN comment on time – I am here! :o) lol

    * What do you think of Keeley’s reaction to her fiance’s behavior at their engagement party? Does she do the right thing? How would you react in a similar situation?

    Well now…. in my wildest dreams, I can imagine being shocked, pissed off, and maybe even yelling at finding my fiance and my best friend in the act. But – I think I’d be too STUNNED really. I don’t think I would have (or COULD have) thrown the major hissy fit that she did… it was extremely over the top. Given the type of people she was marrying into though, I think that might have made matters much worse for her (AJ’s mother would make me want to poke needles in my eyes just by being WHO she is)… in trying to control herself. But in all honesty – I can see me keying the car.

    * Do you find it surprising that Will Mahoney is so determined to impress a woman whom he’s never met? Why?

    He strikes me as someone who is used to getting what he wants, when he wants it. Despite that, there is something about him that I almost like…. his determination? I don’t know yet… we’ll see. He might turn out to be a major schmuck. (Maybe it’s just that he did nothing to stop Keeley as she messed up AJ’s car… just watched and laughed at the misspelling. Some serious *laid-back* playfulness there that I like.)

    * Is the picture that Mary Kay Andrews paints of life and business in a small town a realistic one?

    Absolutely. I live in a small town that could BE Madison. Seriously.

    * Here’s a new question: When Keeley first met and started getting to know Stephanie in Atlanta, did you think Stephanie seemed to be a likely match for Will?

    Nope… it’s all on the surface kind of stuff. Shallow. Nothing of substance to base a real relationship on.

  4. Dory says:

    Well, having just read your answers… sounds like we’re all thinking pretty much the same at this point. Cool beans.

  5. maksbestfriend says:

    This is a very good read, even with my eye issues, again…Ugh.

    I just finished Part Two. Love this book. Twists and turns!

  6. I’m liking this book, too. Now on chapter 31 (p. 184). Don’t finish yet, @maksbestfriend! 😉

  7. Dory says:

    Hey just wondering… is there a reason you don’t have an RSS feed on this site? I use a reader quite a bit and can’t add this one to it. I was just curious.

  8. @Dory – The RSS feed link is https://chickenlitbookclub.wordpress.com/feed/
    Chicken Lit Bookclub is set up with domain forwarding to a WordPress account, which basically amounts to FREE HOSTING. 🙂 Thanks for asking – RSS makes life so much easier, doesn’t it?

  9. @All – I’m on pg 150 and just starting ch 41. Let me just say that Lisa Kane is my own Mom in this novel. She’s still chasing Dead Beat Dad, she’s an Aquarius, and also ‘cusses like a trooper’. Not only that, but I’ve personally witnessed many times when Mom has suggested that someone ‘go f*ck’ themselves. Seriously! Anyway, I’m having major flashbacks here… can you tell?

  10. maksbestfriend says:

    I am up to page 287 but I will stop and wait for the two of you to catch up with me. I am just enjoying the book.

    Flashbacks? Someday when you want to, will you explain?

    Hugs,
    Bec

  11. @maksbestfriend – Now at ch 44, pg 166, which means I need to shift the timeline by a day. Tomorrow I’ll be ready to post discussion #2, so keep an eye out!

    And about that explanation… yes, someday. I try not to think about that stuff anymore, it’s just a big drag. Let’s just say I’m creating the life I never had for the CK’s. They’re so lucky not to have Military Police-like drama in their lives, or should I say blessed.

  12. maksbestfriend says:

    Blessed is probably the much better word for it! Take your time. Life is busy and I am more than okay with any timeline! Go look at my blog for my travel bag steal!

  13. Dory says:

    I’ll be ready! I’ll be out of the house most of the day but I’ll comment when I get home tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

