Discussion #3 & Final Wrap-up: Chasing Harry Winston

The time has come for our third and final discussion of Chasing Harry Winston: A Novel. Have you finished reading? If so, please take a few moments to give us some feedback on your experience and post your thoughts on these questions:

  • Were you all that surprised by the outcome for Leigh, Emmy and/or Adriana in their pact promise? Which seemed the most out there to you?
  • How do you think bonding with Otis impacted Adriana’s luck?
  • Did you find scenes in the book similar in nature to Candace Bushnell’s ‘Sex in the City’ – also a name dropped by Weisberger in Adriana’s career announcement?
  • What is your overall rating of ‘Chasing’ on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=worst, 10=best)?

Last but not least, we are officially accepting recommendations for the selection of book #22. Having Chicken Lit’ers read along with you will make the experience that much more enriching (a proven fact), so post a few titles of books you’ve been itching to read and we’ll take them under consideration. As always, we hold to our promise not to bite here – so what do you have to lose, anyway?

Not a thing, that’s what.

21 Responses to Discussion #3 & Final Wrap-up: Chasing Harry Winston

  1. • Were you all that surprised by the outcome for Leigh, Emmy and/or Adriana in their pact promises? Which seemed the most out there to you?
    Not surprised, so much. Leigh – I felt her relief after she finally found her voice and ended the engagement w/Russell, then subsequently found happiness with Jesse who seemed more her style. Emmy – I think having her ‘Tour’ and viewing online photo albums of Duncan & the Cheerleader gave her the backbone she needed to move on with her life. Paul’s reappearance was icing on the cake! Adriana – bravo to the spoiled brat growing up and actually getting herself an amazing career and life away from Mom & Dad. Toby was the perfect boyfriend/networking connection to steer her in the right direction. What a relief that she didn’t pursue the ‘ring’ factor – huge mistake.

    • How do you think bonding with Otis impacted Adriana’s luck?
    Adriana helped Otis find pride in himself, and by doing so Otis helped her do the same. Caring for a pet requires responsibility, something she lacked completely before she took on the job as pet sitter. At first I thought the bird was only a comic relief element, but was then pleasantly surprised at how the bond went beyond what I expected. Who’d have thought Otis was calling himself a ‘Fat Girl’ in the beginning? What a sweet transformation!

    • Did you find scenes in the book similar in nature to Candace Bushnell’s ‘Sex in the City’ – also a name dropped by Weisberger in Adriana’s career announcement?
    I’m guilty of posting that question as a result of my own thoughts on the similarities between SITC & the relationships amongst our New York chicks in this novel. I had that feeling throughout, and then even more so after reading LW’s name-drop in Adriana’s career opportunity.

    • What is your overall rating of ‘Chasing’ on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=worst, 10=best)?
    This book ranks up there as a ‘most-liked’ compared to many of the other novels I’ve read previously, so I’m giving it 8.5. The only thing that bothered me was the way the sections were divided – some chapters were overly long with intermittent breaks, as opposed to stopping at actual chapter endings. I prefer shorter chapters, so this style really went against my grain. Had this not been the case, I would’ve given it a higher rating (9 or 9.5).

    I’d like to go with one of the Christmas novels recommended by Becca in earlier discussions. They all sound perfect as the holidays get closer.

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    * Were you all that surprised by the outcome for Leigh, Emmy and/or Adriana in their pact promise? Which seemed the most out there to you?

    As I have been dying to say, but sitting on my fingers, so as to not spoil the outcome, I am thrilled with the outcome of the book. I was worried about the relationship between Leigh and Jesse for a bit because of the way the sex happened. I wondered if her conscience and the fact that she thought that he had a wife was going to doom it. What did you think of that twist? What will happen there? I think the most out there was Adriana finally cutting the apron strings with her mother and father. Never thought that I would see her do it. Finally standing on her own two feet. And George showing up at the end of the book was a twist that just capped off the book. The author left that relationship open for growth potential!

    * How do you think bonding with Otis impacted Adriana’s luck?

    She had to see the world outside her own little sphere of wants and desires. I am amazed that she went so far to learn about what was wrong with the bird and how to treat it and then fell in love with someone other than herself. I think that once that dynamic was set, she realized that she needed the bird nearly as much as the bird needed her. A child of sorts. Maybe someone that she can share her secrets with? A good luck charm, too?

    * Did you find scenes in the book similar in nature to Candace Bushnell’s ‘Sex in the City’ – also a name dropped by Weisberger in Adriana’s career announcement?

    I think that each character was indicative in a way of the character from SITC. Is that a good thing, or a bad thing? It could go either way. I think that it is an easy way to write for the characters, but I hope that in the future it isn’t so easy to see. It seems formulaic? Is that the right word? Episodic? Like we are left waiting to see if there is a next book to see what adventure awaits the characters. Not that it is a bad thing, but maybe make it a little bit more subtle?

    * What is your overall rating of ‘Chasing’ on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=worst, 10=best)?

    I give this an 8. It is a really good book. I would recommend it to my friends. Not earth shattering or life changing, but we are reading Chick Lit, and as such it is a good read, or for me a good listen. But as a listen, it could have used distinguishing marks such as chapters. I am so glad that you had the word prompts, because I never would have known where to stop! It was a quick 5+ hour listen, which on a day when Mitch is working from home and is in meetings all day, is a great way to drown out his technical conversations!

    I have all the books, except for the Christmas Sweater, which is coming by Mr. UPS man today. I am open to any or all of the 4! What a great way to celebrate the holiday season!

  3. Great answers, as always Becca! This was a fun read, but I’m ready to take the club in a new direction – holiday style. The Chicken Lit Bookclub’s first Christmas! We need little chick ornaments commemorating this major milestone, don’t we? I’m on it. 🙂

    So we’ll add all 4 to the hopper for now, but I’m keeping suggestions open for another day. The announcement will be posted tomorrow so we can get started on #22.

    Speaking of which, I have 2 more suggestions, both by Jane Porter – a favorite author and Shelfari friend: ‘The Frog Prince’ and ‘Flirting with Forty’.

  4. BTW: ‘Flirting with Forty’ starts in a Christmas setting. Yes, I peeked.

  5. maksbestfriend says:

    Ok, so I ordered those two books. I am going to have to stop at those two. I am not sure how sympathetic Mitch is to anymore purchases right now. His folks are coming for Thanksgiving week and I am supposed to curb my purchases so this has to be it for a bit. Think that these books will get us through the holidays?

  6. @maksbestfriend – These should definitely get us through, along with the others Dory recommended earlier. In fact, ‘Hissy Fit’ is sitting right here on my desk begging for a reader. That’ll go in the hopper, too. Isn’t reading the best hobby on the planet?

  7. maksbestfriend says:

    Yes! And I am plugging away on “What Do You Do All Day”. It tends to be my before bed book. It is really good, better as I am getting closer to finishing it!

  8. maksbestfriend says:

    I have Hissy Fit right here, too, conincidence, or what?

  9. maksbestfriend says:

    Oh you know what I was trying to say! 😉

  10. You’ll have to give us a review of WDYDAD when you’re done – I’ve got it, too.

    Coincidence? Hmmmm…. NOPE! Mary Kay Andrews is channeling our Chicken Lit’ers, that’s all. Looks like another fun read that would be perfect to start ASAP while we wait for everyone to get the holiday book. So maybe a double announcement is in order – Books #22 & #23? I like that idea.

  11. maksbestfriend says:

    Up to you, chickie poo! I just got The Christmas Sweater. What are you thinking for 22 & 23?

  12. Dory says:

    I have all of the mentioned Christmas books ordered but haven’t received even the first one yet! I do have Hissy Fit within reach though.

    I am setting an awful precedent here – being the last to get done! I’ll TRY to do better!

  13. maksbestfriend says:

    Dory, Dory, Dory, hon, no one here is going to judge you for how fast or slow you read a book. Ask the hostess how many times she has been waiting for me, either because of my eyes, or my laziness, or I just couldn’t get into a book. No worries, right Brenda?

    Huggles!

    Bec

  14. @Dory – great that you have all of the Christmas books on order! Looks like I need to get on the ball there. We’ll be drawing very, very soon. No worries about your timing, btw. I’ve already had to update the timeline due to my own lateness, so we’re in the same boat.

    Since 3 of us already have ‘Hissy Fit’, let’s just go with that one for Book #22. Easy enough. 🙂 Unless we receive any other recommendations, I’ll make it official tomorrow by posting it here along with the Christmas novel for Book #23.

    And now for the drawing…

  15. The Christmas Book #23 winner is: Grace: A Novel

    Chicken Lit Girlie drew from a Pampered Chef mixing bowl making this book our official choice.

    I’m off to order my copy – and hopefully all of our readers will have one by the time we finish ‘Hissy Fit’. (Fingers crossed, Dory!)

  16. maksbestfriend says:

    Heehee, I am one step ahead of the Pampered Chef bowl! I have it! 🙂 chick Lit Girl, daughter, perhaps?

  17. @maksbestfriend – that bowl is just so handy for drawings in this house, let me tell you. And yes, Chick Lit Girl-daughter who wishes she could join us in our reading. One of these days!

  18. maksbestfriend says:

    I finished “What Do You Do All Day” by Amy Scheibe. I really liked this book and would recommend it to the group down the road if you choose to throw it in the mix. I will just find something to read while it is read!

  19. Dory says:

    Hissy Fit next sounds great to me! I can’t chat now… gotta go READ! lol 😉

  20. Dory says:

    Finally! I finished it!

    * Were you all that surprised by the outcome for Leigh, Emmy and/or Adriana in their pact promise? Which seemed the most out there to you?

    Absolutely! I love that Emmy *ran into* Paul and he was rushing off to take care of his niece! How ironic is that? After all that time of Emmy beating herself up over mentioning wanting kids in her future…. it came full circle. Sooo glad she told Duncan to hit the road!

    Leigh – well HALLELUJAH! (Not that she’d really been a part of the pact) but I sooo wanted her to break it off with Russell. Marriage is hard enough when you love someone…. I sure didn’t want to see her go into it with no more feeling for him that she seemed to have. And … I LOVE that she ended up with Jesse after all! I really didn’t expect it (his wife and all) but was tickled when all that was revealed.

    Adriana – I was surprised with her *growth* but in the end, she really hadn’t changed too much on that front. She was still eying the candy in LA but at least she’d honestly told Toby that she didn’t want to be *exclusive*.

    * How do you think bonding with Otis impacted Adriana’s luck?

    I don’t know if it helped *change her luck* but I think it definitely might have had something to do with her finally GROWING UP ! Sheesh… she was really a spoiled brat getting on my nerves with all her theories and meanwhile, living off of mommy and daddy.

    * Did you find scenes in the book similar in nature to Candace Bushnell’s ‘Sex in the City’ – also a name dropped by Weisberger in Adriana’s career announcement?

    I’ve never watched *Sex in the City* so I have no idea about this one. I didn’t even know who it was when referenced in the book.

    * What is your overall rating of ‘Chasing’ on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=worst, 10=best)?

    Well, let’s see. Probably only about a 6. I didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. I think I really struggled to identify with any of the characters so it just didn’t *sit right* with me. I think if anything, Leigh was my favorite – and she had the nerve to do what I couldn’t do with my ex-husband. Which would be why he is my EX. lol

  21. @Dory – Never watched ‘Sex in the City’ before? Huh?!! No really, as with our last book – GREAT ANSWERS. Thanks for taking the time to post.

    Here’s hoping we’ll be able to identify with the characters better in book #22, as it seems to have high ratings by readers in Shelfari and Goodreads. As always, our Chicken Lit’ers will put it to the true test. 😉

Leave a Reply

