Discussion #2: Chasing Harry Winston

Why don’t we move ahead with discussion #2 of Chasing Harry Winston: A Novel. We’re now talking about pages 97-207, or through “friendly really means available and desperate” for our listening Chicken Lit’ers. Here are a few questions to get us chatting:

  • What was the biggest shock to you in reading this segment of the book?
  • At this point in the novel, which character seems most likely to fulfill her promise in the pact they agreed on for the year?
  • Do you envision anything positive happening for Leigh, Emmy, or Adriana as a result of the pact promises made?
  • Were you surprised at the author’s choice in Leigh’s chick lit reading material – aka the Emily Giffin Something Blue plug?
  • Again, these are just a few rattled off the top of my head for starters. Got more? Post ’em here!

10 Responses to Discussion #2: Chasing Harry Winston

  1. @Chicken Lit’ers – I sensed that we needed to move this along, hence the early posting of Discussion #2 and timeline changes. This is a fairly quick & short read.

    * What was the biggest shock to you in reading this segment of the book?
    I can’t decide if it’s the Emmy/George or Leigh/Jesse encounter that shocked me the most, but both were equally surprising to me. Zing!

    * At this point in the novel, which character seems most likely to fulfill her promise in the pact they agreed on for the year?
    Neither Emmy or Adriana seem comfortable in following through with their promises, and Leigh never really made one. So no, I don’t think any of them will fulfill any promises. Seems like they’re only torturing themselves in trying to do so.

    * Were you surprised at the author’s choice in Leigh’s chick lit reading material – aka the Emily Giffin Something Blue plug?
    Yes, I was pleasantly surprised by the Giffin references! Although, being the Chick Lit novelist she is, Weisberger probably assumes that her reading audience has already read any/all of Giffin’s popular novels. The ‘blue book’ plug brought a smile to my face.

    BTW: Who is Harry Winston anyway? Is he a jeweler? And all 3 ladies are seeking the perfect guy with the kind of relationship (or ‘jewelry’) they desire?

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I think that it is the Leigh/Jesse encounter. Definitely intense. Some serious ramifications coming up for them. Interesting.

    I think that it is going to be Adriana. Leigh has a career and Emmy, I am not sure about that one yet.

    Yes, that caught me off guard, but in a good way. . Made me smile!

    Harry Winston is a Jeweler to the stars go here http://www.harrywinston.com/.

  3. @maksbestfriend – Thanks for sticking with the timeline even though I already know that you’ve finished reading the entire book. Is Dory reading this one with us? Or anyone else that you know of? I hope so, as this is a really good novel. I’m really enjoying it, despite the downer relationships taking place with all 3 of the characters.

    Harry Winston is a big-time jeweler? Well now it all makes sense! See how much I know. And what an amazing website he has – thanks for the link. I’m in awe.

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    Yes she is, she is gone for the weekend. She will be home tomorrow night.

    Can I say something without it being a spoiler?

  5. @maksbestfriend – I give you a free pass for the evening, but only because I’m stuck in a hotel with a party of 6th Grade Girls Gone Wild. What a total blast. I’m serious!!!

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    Twists and turns, that is all I am going to say. You will have to read carefully, don’t miss anything. You will want to make sure you got it all.

  7. @maksbestfriend – I welcome that comment with open arms. Good thing I didn’t bring the book to the party with me, as I’d probably devour it tonight and miss the details. Tomorrow, it will be finished. Can’t wait!

  8. Dory says:

    # What was the biggest shock to you in reading this segment of the book?

    I am just now up to page 209…. so having JUST read about Leigh and Jesse… I’d say that really blew me away! For someone who struggles with panic attacks – she sure surprised me with Jesse…. I see some major panic ahead for her!

    # At this point in the novel, which character seems most likely to fulfill her promise in the pact they agreed on for the year?

    Geez. I really don’t see Adriana settling down (she is so getting on my nerves!) and Emmy isn’t really making much headway on her plans either.

    # Do you envision anything positive happening for Leigh, Emmy, or Adriana as a result of the pact promises made?

    LOL Positive? ,i>Whoredom for Emmy? No! Adriana settling down? Just not buying it yet. Leigh didn’t really commit to anything, did she?

    # Were you surprised at the author’s choice in Leigh’s chick lit reading material – aka the Emily Giffin Something Blue plug?

    It made me laugh…. I’ve read both of those and loved the alternate perspectives to the same story. Sort of makes me wish I knew what Jesse’s perspective of their encounter would be!

  9. Dory says:

    Darn. Messed up that code. Meant to say Whoredom for Emmy?

    And only repeated it because let’s face it – how many times in life do you get to use the word *whoredom* ??

    (That makes THREE, if you’re counting! lol)

  10. @Dory – hey yeah, Leigh never did commit to anything. Good point there! And three times in using the word ‘whoredom’ is beyond my limit at this point, but it was worth a giggle or two. 😀

Leave a Reply

