Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Suburbanistas

By last discussion’s comments, clearly our readers (yes, all TWO of us!) are finished reading the final chapters of Suburbanistas. I don’t know about you, but turning that last page sure did leave warm fuzzies here. We made an excellent choice with book #19, don’t you agree?

Which brings us to a few final questions for discussion:

  • What were your thoughts about the ending?
  • Is there anything that you would have changed in this novel?
  • How about a rating of this book on a scale of 1-10 (1=worst, 10=best)?
  • Would you be interested in reading more novels by Pamela Redmond Satran? Why/why not?

Any other question &/or comments are most welcome, and please do send suggestions on book #19. Better yet, do you know anyone who would like us to review a particular book? Send them our direction – we’d gladly consider it! As you can see, Chicken Lit’ers love to Get All Literary, you know.

3 Responses to Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Suburbanistas

  1. * I was a little surprised (but in a good way) when Mary Jean pulled out of the mayor’s race. The way she continued leaving the family to fend for themselves while she ran around town really irked me. It was as if she didn’t even care about the well being of her husband, children or even the state of her home while she was away. So I was glad that she stepped aside, and then absolutely ecstatic that Stella stepped up to the plate. And the house she gave to Mary Jean? Sladowski running out of town? What an excellent finish.

    * If anything, I would’ve read more about Pamela Redmond Satran’s life on her website before reading this book – she’s from Norwood, New Jersey, the location she used in creating Homewood in this novel. Satran gently weaves experiences with friendships, family and background history into Suburbanistas. This book is chalk full of humor, and yet is heartwarming at the same time.

    * Suburbanistas = 8 (Recommended to women readers interested in a light, funny, engaging novel.)

    * Yes, namely ‘Younger’ and ‘Babes in Captivity’.

    The next book I’d like to read is ‘Confessions of a Contractor’ by Richard Murphy, but Satran’s other novels will remain on my ‘To Read’ list for future reading.

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I LOVED the way that the book ended. The ultimate way to end it. Everyone got what they deserved. I know that MJ didn’t get the mayor job that she wanted, but dang a big house is a really nice consolation prize, you think?

    I hadn’t been to the website. I will have to go and look around. I give it an 8.

    Anything by this author I think. I like her writing style. I felt drawn in and the pages kept turning.

    It is going to sound like I am a sheep, but you know what I have coming from Mr. UPS man tomorrow, so I agree. MzNadine, can you find this book?

    I am reading “What Do You Do All Day?” It is pretty good. Very crass and hard to read in parts, her attitudes towards others and her own children, but I am working through it and hoping that it evens out. Have you looked at it?

  3. @maksbestfriend – I’m actually working on ‘New Moon’, the second in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. I had good intentions about bringing ‘What Do You Do All Day’ with me to the salon, but being 2/3 of the way through NM changed my mind. WDYDAD is still in my To Read pile, though. Hopefully you’ll give it a good review and encourage me to pick it up on the side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

