Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: One of Those Malibu Nights

Well? By now we are all finished reading book #17, One of Those Malibu Nights after a long drawn out discussion period, for which I apologize hugely. But you’ve already forgiven me, I know this. It’s safe to say we’re right back on track once again.

So let’s get this talk started with:

  • Were you surprised by the ending with all those its twists and turns?
  • Did you find this book similar to book #16 Meet Me in Venice? Or not?
  • What is your overall rating of this book on a scale of 1-10 (1=worst, 10=best)?
  • Would you read another Elizabeth Adler novel? Why/why not?

Any other closing thoughts on this novel? Post away! Also, send me your ideas about a possible read for book #19. I have a few in mind, but I’m hoping to get some inspiration from you, our bookclub readers. Speaking of which, know of anyone interested in joining us? Send them right on over – a free giveaway is awaiting our next newbie!

6 Responses to Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: One of Those Malibu Nights

  1. * I was a little surprised by the ending, as I actually thought Jessie Whitworth was accompanied by a friend when she headed to France, and I thought they were going to kill Allie. And Demarco’s suicide was unexpected, too. But the best surprise of all? The proposal – loved that!

    * This book seemed similar in it’s fast paced-ness. I liked that about both. The characters also had similarities, but not so much that it was uninteresting.

    * Rating: 6 (I found the beginning a little hard to stick with, but the ending made up for it.)

    * I would read another Adler novel, but only after taking a break from her for awhile. Reading 2 in a row is my limit!

    Book Suggestions:
    The Writing Class, by Jincy Willett
    Suburbanistas, by Pamela Redmond Satran
    What Do You Do All Day? by Amy Scheibe

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I started to see the ending coming together in the manner of how DeMarco was acting at that party. He was off. Very off.

    I loved the proposal too.

    I don’t think that Allie should go back to Perron, that is really odd. I would give this book a 6, too. It was fast paced, the end third was the best part of the book. Agreed on the break.

    I do not have The Writing Class

    but I have the other two books. Which one, or do I get to pick? πŸ˜‰

  3. I agree with you on RP. She seemed to have become so strong at the end that it seemed wrong for her to get back together with him again. Whatever.

    The Writing Class was just a new one that I wanted to throw in the ring, but let’s choose from the other 2 that we already have. Alphabetically, Suburbanistas comes before What Do You Do All Day?, so there it is. I’ll post a formal announcement tomorrow, then ready-set-go. πŸ™‚

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    Well, that works for me! I may be a couple of days behind again. My right eye is doing its “I am going to drive you painfully crazy” routine. I have to call the opthamologist tomorrow and see if I can get in on Tuesday, and have to make an appointment to see a rhuemetologist to see what else is happening, since this is now listed as auto-immune. Ugh.

    But I will read when I can!

  5. @maksbestfriend – I am so, so sorry to hear about the health issues that you’re facing right now and hope you can find some relief very soon. My prayers are with you in finding the right help.

    Meanwhile, please do keep me posted on your reading status, as you know I can adjust the timeline without a problem. You’re an integral part of the Chicken Lit Bookclub! *hugs*

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    Just Twit me when you are ready!

Leave a Reply

