Discussion #2: One of Those Malibu Nights

Ok, ok – The Chicken Lit Bookclub administrator is officially late in opening this discussion, and I do apologize. Getting children off to school and into a new routine tends to do that to a bookclub owner. However, the family is finally back in the groove leaving me ready to post the second discussion for book #17, One of Those Malibu Nights.

Have you been waiting patiently by holding back on your reading? Or are you well past our stopping point, chapter 40? If so, that’s perfectly fine. Post your reading status here so we can hold an open chit-chat. The Chicken Lit Bookclub awaits your input!

7 Responses to Discussion #2: One of Those Malibu Nights

  1. I’ll go ahead and start by admitting I’m currently on chapter 57. *D’oh!* Guilty as charged, that’s me. Anyway, I’d like to know where other readers are at this point in time before I say too much about the storyline. Don’t want to be a spoiler, you know. 😉

    Is anyone out there still reading book #17?

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    Brenda,

    I am hanging my head in shame…

    I have not finished this part yet. I am going to clip on the headphones tomorrow while Mitch is working and work through the remaining chapters so that I can catch up to you. I have no excuses, well my eyes, but really. I promise to be up to you tomorrow afternoon.

    Forgive me?

    Becca 😦

  3. @maksbestfriend – You are absolutely forgiven! Not like you need to ask after my delay in updating here, but still. Catch up and let me know where you are… this will be great to chat about when we’re on the same page again. 🙂

  4. maksbestfriend says:

    Good morning, B!

    I am up to Chapter 46. Want to get the discussion started for this part of the book? I will catch up to where you are. Wait for me? 😉

  5. @maksbestfriend: Will do! So what did you think about the ‘House of Horrors’ after the quake? Up until this time, I thought the whole stalker thing seemed lame, and that the person following Allie wasn’t going to do any harm besides slash clothes. But then after reading ch 40 I realized this person meant business. What in the world is up with the 2 dead bodies?

    Also, wasn’t it odd that Sunny and Mac decided on vampire costumes to Demarco’s party? Very strange. I almost thought Demarco was setting them up for humiliation by suggesting that they dress up in a costume at all! I don’t trust that guy.

    As per Allie in France, she seems to be getting a little to laid back in ‘Paradise’. Even though she disguised herself with the haircut/color and glasses, I’m thinking she should be careful about letting down her guard if she wants to stay incognito – especially while in the public eye so much with Petra in the restaurant.

    How about the dog, ‘Dearie’? How coincidental that she would save that poor guy, similar to how Mac saved his old dog. Nice that she has a buddy to carry out her fresh start though. But the name is odd, don’t you think? Could be worse, I guess!

    Those are my rambling thoughts up through ch 40. What are yours?

  6. maksbestfriend says:

    I am finishing the book so these things are making more sense now.

    “I don’t trust that guy” …DeMarco…hummm…

    Perrin and DeMarco…

    That party was quite odd, creepy even.

    I think that Allie leaving and going to France was what her heart needed. I don’t think that Hollywood was ever what she really needed. She wanted to be needed and loved for her. I think that she found her niche in cooking at the restaurant.

    I think that the dog accepted her for who she was and didn’t try to make her something that she wasn’t.

    I am finishing it now, listening to the epiloque.

  7. maksbestfriend says:

    The last third of the book is really, really good!

Leave a Reply

