Discussion #1: One of Those Malibu Nights

This is it! Finally we’ve made it through chapter 18 of book #17, One of Those Malibu Nights. So what are you thinking about this one? Let’s get the discussion started with these questions:

  • After reading Elizabeth Adler’s previous novel with book 16, how does this one compare? Thumbs up? Down? Still deciding?
  • What are your thoughts on the new characters: Mac Reilly? Sunny Alvarez? Ron Perrin? Allie Ray? Marisa Mayne? Demarco?
  • What is up with all the paranoia in feeling followed? Who do you think is really being followed and why?
  • Do you think Sunny & Mac’s romance will survive with Allie Ray in the picture?
  • Is Perrin really trying to ditch Marisa Mayne? Or what’s going on there?

Anyway, those are just a few snippets to get us talking. Let’s chat so we can move onward in figuring out the mysterious plot.

2 Responses to Discussion #1: One of Those Malibu Nights

  1. maksbestfriend says:

    This is a thumbs up, too! I like this book just as much. It is a thriller just like the last book! I like the speed that this book is going at, too!

    I think that all the characters are complicated and flawed and in their own ways what is the word that I am looking for, needy? Is that the word that I am looking for? Maybe, but more that they need attention in ways that they should find in themselves and not from the people that are in their lives.

    I think that when people are that famous and are that used to having to be stalked, for lack of a better word by the paparazzi, it has to become a feeling of paranoia. Is the stalker real? Is it Allie herself? We’ll see.

    I think that it will survive. I think that they are more committed than either would admit.

    I don’t know what to think of Perrin and Marisa. I do think that he dumped her. But I wonder what else is happening there.

  2. I’m enjoying this book, but not quite as much as the last one – not sure if that’s because I’m extremely distracted with back-to-school activities/meetings right now, or if the storyline is not capturing my interest. I think it’s a combination of both.

    The characters are mysterious to me. Seems as if everyone revolves around Mac, either in their need to hire him or for romance or whatever. He’s like a big walking, talking magnet in this novel. At least he doesn’t have a big overloaded ego with his TV show fame, in which case, he’s likable.

    RP must be having Allie followed, and she’s oblivious. Can’t figure out why each has an opposing view of their marriage/relationship with one another, at least as it was told to Mac. He wants the divorce and thinks she’s going to take all his money, and yet she still wants to be with him? Doesn’t compute.

    Mac and Sunny have potential, but Mac needs to know Sunny wants a commitment (ring). He seems to think they don’t need marriage, yet Sunny keeps expecting him to pop the question. Will he run in the opposite direction when he finds out her expectations? Possibly.

    I still can’t figure out how Marisa fits into the story. Why was she in RP’s house when Mac heard the scream? And did RP know about it? If so, why is he hiding that fact? We shall see!

    Anyway, I still think it was strange that RP wanted to hire Mac even though Mac was the one who approached RP first. And why did RP disappear after Mac turned him down? RP the paper shredder man is up to no good, but who knows what at this point? I don’t, but I’m interested in finding out.

Leave a Reply

