Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Meet Me in Venice

Did you make it to the end of book #16, Meet Me in Venice? If so, now’s the time to post your thoughts/feelings/overall take on the novel, our first by Elizabeth Adler. To help get the conversation moving, here are a few questions:

  • Who did you suspect as the killer? Did you think so all along?
  • Were you surprised about Lily’s death in Venice?
  • Did you ever envision Sam & Preshy becoming a couple at the end?
  • What did you think about the Maow’s sneaky ransacking of Preshy’s apartment and subsequent unveiling of the necklace?
  • Was the ending good enough for you?

On a final note in moving forward with our next bookclub selection, did you like Adler’s writing enough to read another one of her novels? If so, which one would you be interested in reading? Otherwise, do you have any other book suggestions for read #17? Post away – we’re all ears!

2 Responses to Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Meet Me in Venice

  1. Who did you suspect as the killer? Did you think so all along?
    Up until chapter 60, I thought Bennett was the guilty party. But then I reconsidered after reading about Mary-Lou on her return to Shanghai, “Murder, she thought, did not add luster to a girl’s looks.” That one sentence had me thinking SHE killed Lily, perhaps imitating Ana Yuan’s murder to make it seem like the same killer was involved.

    Were you surprised about Lily’s death in Venice?
    Yes, because the necklace location was unknown, and Preshy still hadn’t even met up with her at that point in time.

    Did you ever envision Sam & Preshy becoming a couple at the end?
    No – Sam didn’t seem to be Preshy’s type, at first anyway. And I just couldn’t see that he would give up his love for the beach and move to Paris with her. That’s a big adjustment.

    What did you think about the Maow’s sneaky ransacking of Preshy’s apartment and subsequent unveiling of the necklace?
    Loved it! That was my absolute favorite part of the book. Adler’s writing was such a delight that I even read that segment aloud to my daughter who was tickled by the way she described Maow’s curiousity.

    Was the ending good enough for you?
    I was glad to know the necklace would not end up in greedy hands, but yet I was a little disappointed at how Adler wrapped up Sam & Preshy’s relationship so smoothly. It seemed a bit contrived to me. However, I did enjoy reading this novel in a general sense.

    I’d be interested in reading Adler’s latest novel, One of Those Malibu Nights. Other books I’d like to read are What Do You Do All Day?: A Novel by Amy Scheibe or Suburbanistas by Pamela Redmond Satran. Any other Chicken Lit’ers game?

  2. maksbestfriend says:

    I loved this book! This is one of the best books that we have read in awhile! I like that we are reading something different. I am open to read another by this author or one of the two other books that we both already have. I am open!

    We are going out of town Friday and Saturday, and will be back next Sunday afternoon, so I will probably be a little bit behind in reading but that is ok.

Leave a Reply

