Discussion #2: The Beach House

Lo and behold, finally here we are with the second discussion on book #15, The Beach House. By now you are probably up to chapter 22, correct? Then how about if we chat about these questions:

  • Were you surprised Jess and her erratic behaviors?
  • Do you think Michael will hold strong in his relationship decisions?
  • What do you think Daff and/or Nan should do about the Windermere property?
  • Are you sensing a sudden change in the wind with Nan’s health and strange dreams?
  • How do you like the pace of this novel so far? Thumb up? Down?

As always, these are just discussion suggestions – any/all posts are welcome on this open dialogue. What are you thinking at this point in the book? Hmmmm?

2 Responses to Discussion #2: The Beach House

  1. I’m actually on chapter 26 right now, but I will try not to spoil anything with my comments:

    * Were you surprised Jess and her erratic behaviors?
    Not at all. Jess was bound to get caught in her shoplifting, and she’s all about attention seeking with her parent’s split. I don’t think she intended to get detained, but she’s acting like no one is paying any attention to her and is crying out for help.

    * Do you think Michael will hold strong in his relationship decisions?
    I hope so! Jordana is not the woman for him. I really do think he would do the honorable thing as a father to their child, but he would be miserable as her husband. He finally seems to be back to reality after stepping aside from the affair by leaving for Nantucket.

    * What do you think Daff and/or Nan should do about the Windermere property?
    Daff should be honest and tell Nan about the developer’s proposition to give her a cut of the earnings with the property sale. Nan isn’t going to live forever, and neither is the property. The sale would benefit many.

    * Are you sensing a sudden change in the wind with Nan’s health and strange dreams?
    Yes – something big seems to be brewing, and I’m anxious to know what will happen.

    * How do you like the pace of this novel so far? Thumb up? Down?
    Definite ‘thumbs up’. If I had an hour or two free, I could easily finish this book. It’s a huge page turner with me. I’m really enjoying this book.

  2. Becca says:

    I think that her shoplifting is meanspirited but I can see her doing it, too bad there were no more consequences than being walked out of the store, and what is going to happen when the drawers of stolen goods is found, but her meltdowns are so over the top. A three year old does that. And what got me was when she was doing it in a public place and so loudly, no one’s attention was drawn to it. Odd. But then again, some may have seen her as an over emotional child. I think that Carrie has her number. Too bad Richard is blind. Too bad that he painted the picture for her that it was her mothers fault that this is the outcome for the child. He should have been more forthcoming. Dad is reaping what he sowed with his dishonesty.

    I hope that Micheal sees through Jordana. I think that she is going to do anything and everything to keep him. And what if she really isn’t pregnant? What if it is a ploy to keep him? I think that she is a conniving, manipulative woman.

    Daff needs to come clean with what she knows, if she doesn’t I worry for both the future of her relationship with Nan and Micheal, especially when it fully comes to light what she does for a living.

    I think that Nan senses the new life coming back to the house and the years of smoking and her advanced age have caught up with her. And the dream about Everett. That was odd, but so telling.

    What about Bee’s reaction to Daniel telling her that he was gay? Was that the reaction that you were expecting? Me, yes. She seems to have a quick temper. I hope that she softens a bit. She is going to have to for her girls.

    The book is picking up. I really like it! I am going to catch up with you today, I am in Chapter 22 right now.

Leave a Reply

