Discussion #2: Shoe Addicts Anonymous

This post opens up the second discussion on book #13, Shoe Addicts Anonymous. Hopefully if you’re reading this you’ve already finished reading chapter 15, otherwise come back later so we don’t spoil anything for you! I’ve got a few more questions to throw in the ring:

  • What did you think about those surprise club member wannabes?
  • Do you think Joss will make it in the group with her second hand shoes?
  • Is Sandra setting herself up for heartbreak with Mike Lemmington, aka Mr. Live, love, laugh, and get laid?
  • Will Lorna get her finances together and make Phil Carson and Holden Bennington proud?

And I don’t know about you, but a certain part seriously left me laughing out loud. A clue: Shoegarpie!

6 Responses to Discussion #2: Shoe Addicts Anonymous

  1. Becca says:

    I think that she will. I think that she is a nice juxtaposition to the other women in the group. The wannabes are just looking for a place to fit in and in a way aren’t we all in one way or another? I hope that the group is not that closed minded.

    I wonder if her guy isn’t bisexual. Or if he is looking to get with her for some other nefarious reason. Maybe he isn’t who he says he is, up to no good.

    I think that Lorna will eventually get it together, but man it is going to hurt a whole lot before she gets better at it. She is still making a lot of dumb mistakes.

    Remind me please on this? Shoegarpie!

    I am going to be picking up the IPod this evening, I am suffering from an eye infection so I have had to put my book down since my left eye is now dilated too big to make out the words on the page. Thankfully I can turn down the brightness on the computer so I can see well enough to type. Would you believe that this ia an autoimmune disease in the lines of lupus! I get this every month for about a week, and end up having to be treated with steroids. A week of no driving. I am hoping it stays in just one eye. It feels like someone has sucker punched me on the left side of my face, but really it is an inflammation of the eye muscles. Funny what I take for granted.

  2. I know this is just a novel, but I was a little scared for Lorna when the guy/girl person showed up at her door and then bolted away. How lucky for her to have found a few people who really needed the group and weren’t there with ulterior motives, like looking for a potential date, etc.

    It’s great that Joss was able to find some decent second hand designer shoes that weren’t knock-offs like the ones Florence brought to the table. Frankly, I’ve never been able to find any at Goodwill or other consignment shops so easily. But maybe I just don’t have enough patience in looking? Anyway, Joss needs the group so I hope they keep her along. You’re right about the ‘nice juxtaposition’ that she makes.

    That Mr. Mike guy seems to be up to no good. At least Sandra is enjoying the company, but I’m worried about her mental state if/when the relationship crashes down on her. And poor Sandra’s GREEN hair! How embarrassing is that?

    Lorna needs to find a better job and learn how to stay within her budget, neither of which are easy things to accomplish in a short amount of time. I want to see her overcome those dumb mistakes and move on.

    Shoegarpie is the name of the eBay user who outbid Lorna in the shoe auctions. If you’ve ever been outbid by someone on eBay, you’d relate to that one. (It happened to me before with Land Before Time videos. Stinker!)

    I am so sad in learning more about your eye infection and hope you’re able to rest up until the inflammation goes down. I’ll keep you in my prayers so the meds work and you’re feeling better again soon. We should go ahead with an audible next time, like Secrets of a Shoe Addict to give your eye a break. What do you think?

  3. Becca says:

    Hi Brenda! I just finished the book! I can’t wait to hear what you think of the last chapters of the book! And yes now I want to hear the next one! 🙂

  4. I finished too and am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. But I don’t want to spoil it for Gina. Are you still reading Gina? If so, let us know where you are when you get a chance! THX!

  5. Becca says:

    Gina, oh Gina, are you liking this as much as we did? How are you? Come out and say hi! 🙂

  6. I’ll post my final thoughts tomorrow – loved this one! And I must say that I was intrigued by the ch 1 preview of the next book at the end of this one. Mine arrived today, so I’ll be starting it at ch 2. Way cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

