Discussion #1: So Much for My Happy Ending

This post opens up the first discussion on book #12, So Much For My Happy Ending. Within these first 10 chapters, let’s go ahead and talk about observations and questions, such as:

  • Do you like Davis’ non-mystery writing style?
  • What do you think Jeremiah knows about Tad and wants to bring out in the open to April?
  • Were there warning signs and clues that April should have paid more attention to before marrying Tad?
  • Can life continue as normal for April and Tad after returning from the honeymoon gone bad?

Any other questions are completely welcome – this book is getting very interesting!

6 Responses to Discussion #1: So Much for My Happy Ending

  1. ginabeana says:

    Can you imagine having a HONEYMOON like that?! I was so blown away after reading that section that I engaged The Husband into conversation about it. I wanted to know what his reaction was, but he said he couldn’t even wrap his mind around a situation like that. I couldn’t even imagine what I would have done (cried!!) if my husband acted like a listless lump/crazy person during our honeymoon. I mean, the ink didn’t even dry from their “marriage contract” yet and April had to be having second thoughts!

    I’m sure there were warning signs about Tad before April married him, but come on – they dated for three mths. Is that really enough time to truly know someone? I don’t think you even know a person well enough to figure that there might be warning signs!

    I liked this novel better than the mystery ones so far. I feel more connected to what’s going on. (and less confused about trying to figure out the whodunit).

    How funny is the thought of April becoming “April Showers”… I died laughing at that part.

  2. When I started reading this book, Tad scared me right off the bat – mostly because I dated a suave yet controlling guy in college who had similar mood/anger issues. He was diagnosed with a mental illness and medicated later after we’d broken up, but that was really truly scary for me. However, with that I’m glad we decided to go forward with this book, as I can relate to April’s feelings. It’s like she has to tip-toe around Tad, and is forced to constantly choose her words wisely. As much as she loves him, she never knows when something will set him off.

    The HONEYMOON. I’m in agreement with you and would’ve cried my eyes out! Although, I think she handled it well by taking advantage of sight-seeing options to take her mind off of his behavior. But my God, who do you turn to in a situation like that, in another country no less? How sad for her to have dealt with the invasion of the body snatchers on the honeymoon.

    I was disappointed in the way April let Tad steamroll her into marriage. Red flag! Red flag!! She had no time at all to get to know him, nor did she travel with him to see how he acted after experiencing jet lag. No wonder they tell you to be with your potential bride/groom for at least 1 year, and engaged for about that long too. I guess that’s what makes the story here, as we read on and discover Tad’s true self.

    I really like this novel but miss the humor/fun stuff that we had in reading the mysteries. Books like these tend to make me a little melancholy, but id does add a nice mixture to our recent reads. Let’s hope there really is a “Happy Ending”, afterall!

  3. @All – Just finished and absolutely LOVED this book. Let me know where you are… ?

  4. ginabeana says:

    I’m finished and I LOVED the book, too! It was a really great read for me. I’m so sorry to hear about your ex college boyfriend…I can understand how crazy scary it had to be for you, and now i have better insight after reading this novel. Let me know when we are good to hash out more of this book, I don’t want to give anything away, but I’m still so so interested in talking more about this book.

  5. Becca says:

    Um, I am the guilty person. I just couldn’t get into this book. It looked at me, and I looked at it, but I just couldn’t get into it with the same gusto as her other books. I am not sure if it is because we had common characters in the last three books and not in this one or what exactly.

    But that happens from time to time. So I will let it collect a little dust and come back to it. Forgive me?

    What’s next? πŸ™‚

  6. @Becca – no problem! See the newest post above. I’d still like to hear what turned you away from the book. We won’t let you escape that easy. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

