Discussion #2: Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights

Let’s move along to the second discussion on book #11, Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights. At this point, we’ve finished reading chapter 13 and what a bumpy ride it has been since chapter 6! Don’t you agree? So many questions are swirling around in my mind as the plot thickens. But to avoid posting any spoilers for those of you still catching up, this discussion will be completely open to any thoughts or ideas that you might have.

Well… any burning questions? Fire away!

12 Responses to Discussion #2: Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights

  1. Becca says:

    Just finished Chapter 13. This is taking a round about way of getting there.

    Send out your questions, Brenda!

  2. Ok Becca, let’s chat about these questions:
    1. Are you as confused as I am about Bob’s connection to the Gatsby hotel and the women involved? Was he having multiple affairs, or …?
    2. Why is Sophie compromising Anatoly’s investigation even after she agreed to pay him $12,000 to take on the case? What does she really want?
    3. Who do you think are the most suspicious players with regard Bob Miller’s murder? And what about Erika’s?
    4. Do you think Sophie and Leah should’ve been honest and admitted to visiting Erika’s home where they witnessed the scene of the crime?

    What are your thoughts?

  3. Here are my answers:

    1. Bob just did NOT seem like the womanizing type, at least from Sophie’s descriptions of him. If he was the comptroller, then money must’ve been the object in his shady dealings. That’s not to say that he didn’t have a thing going with Erika, but just that I think he had other motivations.

    2. Sophie Katz needs to get it through her head that she is not. a. private. investigator. While she does seem to land pertinent information at times, Anatoly is so not amused by the way she keeps getting in the way of his work.

    3. James Sawyer and Taylor are the most suspicious to me in both cases.

    4. YES! Anatoly is there to protect them, and yet Sophie acted extremely suspicious by not telling him or even having him check out the house after Erika had gone missing. Major *doh!* right there. Any other PI would walk away from the investigation after that kind of blunder, IMHO.

  4. Becca says:

    I am not confused anymore. I am finishing the book. But his connection to the hotel will become clearer. Honest.

    Because Sophie is an idiot who thinks with something other than her head. I wish that she did, but she doesn’t. We see that in the first book, and the third book, so why should we be surprised now. She wants the answers but she wants to feel like she is the good daughter/sister who can solve anything, like she does in her books. She should stick to writing books.

    You are on the right track with one of the people you suspect but I am not going to tell you.

    I think that they should have been honest, but Sophie has been playing fast and loose with the truth. What happens if/when Anatoly finds out? Does he?

    Jack does something wonderful! 🙂 As a mom you are going to love it!

  5. ginabeana says:

    Truth be told, I finished the book. So, I’m going to be very careful about what I say because I’m not sure what where you guys are up to.

    I think Sophie just likes to meddle. She wants results and she wants them now. I CRINGED, absolutely CRINGED when they went over to Erika’s and walked right into a crime scene. Talk about D’OH! It was kind of frustrating to read that part. It’s like COME ON, ALREADY! Stop digging a deeper grave. I could totally see why Sophie wouldn’t have been forthcoming w/ Anatoly about their stupidity. If I was the PI I would have been like, thanks for the 12k dollars, I’ll be going now. Ok, I’m going to stop right now because I don’t have my book with me and I don’t know where the cutoff point is.

    ps…I started reading THERE GOES MY HAPPY ENDING…we really need to add this book, I’m really enjoying it and I think we could have a great discussion with this book.

  6. Becca says:

    I am still waiting for that book, stop reading it, Gina…no fair! 😦 !

  7. Becca says:

    Yes I am being bossy. I am finished with the book too! 😉

  8. Ok, ok… I’ve been so busy puttering around with my ITCM blog that I’ve fallen behind you two in reading the book.

    And Gina, I’m going to have to stand behind Becca as she bosses you around. 😉 I’ll put that one down for book #12 since we have it already.

  9. Becca says:

    I got my book from a seller on EBay and it says that it was shipped, so now I wait for it. Hope that it is here soon, so I don’t keep you waiting! 😉 That is what I get for thinking I would get a deal not going with Amazon!

  10. But did you get a better deal on eBay? No worries, I’m hoping to finish today. Shouldn’t be a problem since I’ll be fasting tonight for my annual cholesterol test in the morning. Water and reading after 7:00 p.m. Pray that I don’t faint before my appointment. 😦

  11. Becca says:

    Oh I hate that test, but one of the things that we have to do as grown ups, eh? I get to do it as a diabetic. And when I am on insulin, that is fun times, I have to watch how low the blood sugar number goes. Lots of fun being the grown up.

    Mr. UPS guy showed up today. I got my new copy of The Big Island Revealed, so that we can start planning what we want to see on our trip in January. It is such an interesting read. I think that we are going to have to sit down and have some planning sessions so we don’t do too much, or too little. I can see us totally doing the mai tai kick back vacation, but I do want to get out and about a little.

    My US Mail is not here yet. I am hoping it gets here tonight. I will never look at Espresso the same way, that is for certain! 😉

  12. @Becca – I have Kyra Davis to thank for keeping me distracted from my growling stomach. (Thanks!) As you can see, the final discussion has been posted and now I’m off to read in my pajamas while sipping H2O for the next 12 hours. *sigh*

    Enjoy your special book from Mr. UPS guy! Love it when he pays a visit bearing books, especially when they are all about the next vacation on deck. Hope Mr. USPS guy paid you a visit, too. That would be a perfect day. 🙂

    Espresso? Oh no… I’ll be skipping mine in the morning. UNWILLINGLY, that is. (And like you, I’ll never think about it the same way again either.)

Leave a Reply

