Discussion #1: Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights

This post opens up the first discussion on book #11, Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights. By now we’re finished reading the first 6 chapters – so? What are your thoughts at this point? How about some questions to get us started:

  • What did you think about the transition between book #10 and this one?
  • Do you believe Leah is innocent?
  • Is Sophie helping the investigation at all?
  • Do you sense a romantic interest between Anatoly and Sophie at this point?

Those are just off the top of my head. Got any others?

10 Responses to Discussion #1: Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights

  1. Becca says:

    •What did you think about the transition between book #10 and this one?

    I like the transition, seems to have kept the transitional anger between Anatoly and Sophie going. And rightfully so. He should be angry at he for some time. What she did was so wrong on so many levels. He is going to take time to calm down. And jumping right into another crime, wow! And being Sophie’s sisters scummy husband, what else can happen to Sophie?

    •Do you believe Leah is innocent?

    Not wholly. I do think that she had some kind of relationship with another man. She was too quick to deny it when confronted with it. I think that the other woman, girl really, was telling some version of the truth, whether it was the whole truth or not, is yet to be seen.

    •Is Sophie helping the investigation at all?

    Come on….is Sophie ever really helpful? 😉 I think Anatoly has wanted to yank her arm out of her socket how many times in the first 6 chapters of this book? Heavens to Betsy, that woman just needs to shut up and listen more. I wonder if she takes after her mother? Look at how her mother talked, and didn’t think and what was the end result? Foot in mouth. Sophie seems to have inherited that gene. Poor Anatoly. I wonder if that makes Sophie a target? She trips all over herself.

    •Do you sense a romantic interest between Anatoly and Sophie at this point?

    Oh I think it is still under the surface, but right now, if anything were to happen can you imagine how much anger would be involved, given what she did to him? I think that she has a lot of mending to do before they get to the romantic thing.

    My question is who was the guy who went in the house and ransacked it? When all the women were in there? Was his name John? I got it in passing on the IPod. And what is his part? Sorry, I am not sure if this is just a lead in on the chapter for me, but this is really odd.

  2. John? Hmmm… I didn’t catch that reference, but it could’ve been there. The ransacking reminds me of the ransacked cars in book #10. Spooky! And I don’t know why, but I had a feeling it was Anatoly collecting more evidence – but then I reached the end of the chapter and changed my mind.

    Leah is holding back on us. She may not be guilty of her husband’s murder, but she just has to be hiding some pieces to the mystery. While she might not be capable of physical harm, she could possibly have done some hanky-panky behind poor ‘ole Bob’s back.

    BTW: My preordered Love the One You’re With by Emily Giffin just arrived today.
    So. Trying. Not. To. Read. It.

  3. Becca says:

    Funny you should say that.

    My gorgeous UPS guy delivered mine today, too! Woohoo! Behave and I won’t read it, either! 😉

  4. Becca says:

    The name was Johathan (sp) and it was at the beginning of Chapter 6. One should never go back to the scene of a perfect crime is what he says in the intro to the chapter, but who is he???? And are you not seeing this in the book? Now this is frustrating! 😉

  5. Becca says:

    He is the one that is apparently ransacking or meaning to ransack the home, or that is what I take from the voice. Odd, very odd.

    I am not losing my mind. I made Mitch listen and he heard the name and what he said, too!

  6. I see the quote you mention at the beginning of chapter 5 in my book, and it appears to be a quote from Sophie’s novel, ‘Words to Die By’. So I don’t think Jonathan is in PBAKH but in WTDB. You’re not losing your mind – the audio must not be telling you that J-man in in the character’s novel… ?

  7. OH – and you got your Emily Giffin book today, too? We are so, so good if we don’t read it right now. Let’s give ourselves a little pat on the back!

    I’m still having a hard time as I look at it sitting there all new on my desk.

  8. ginabeana says:

    *coming in here with my hand over my eyes* Ok, I got my book (finally) – I’ll dive right in as soon as I can, *trips on the way out because I’m still covering my eyes*

  9. ginabeana says:

    Ok, I’m all caught up!!!

    Let me answer some of these questions…I sooo am wishing we didn’t read out of sequence, but we really can’t change that now can we. I think the book picks up quite nicely from the last one. Anatoly is just as pissed as when we last left him which is good. Imagine if we picked up this book and everything was all hunky dory. So good transition, IMO.

    Is it me, or does MaryAnn seem like less of flake in this one. If this was the first book that I read in the series, I would never guess she was a flaky person. I kinda do like the departure from the flaky-ness. Usually MaryAnn makes me wonder how did she make it this far in life.

    I believe Leah is innocent. I’m not picking up the vibe that Leah was fooling around on Bob. Perhaps I missed a clue, but its an interesting thought. Right now, my guess is on Erika. She said and did some things in the book that made me go “hmmm…”. Come on now, no one can be THAT devoted to their employeer, right? I’m keeping an eye on her!Plus something about her wearing a tennis bracelet has piqued my interest. Hey ,maybe Bob made someone angry at Tiffany’s and that’s why he was shot…lol. I’m kidding.

    The scene where the girls are in Leah’s house and they hear a noise was such a great read, my heart was thumping! I am DYING to figure out who that was in the house!

    Sophie is totally not helping this investigation so far. It’s a good thing she had Anatoly around to help her out everything time Sophie “misspoke”.

    Oh, and Anatoly and Sophie want each other so bad, it probably hurts. :o)

  10. @Gina – I thought the same of Mary Ann until I reached chapter 8 and read her snake comment. *doh!* I’m so not a spoiler… you’ve read that part already, right?

    And I was just like you with the girls at Leah’s house. In fact, Smokie padded up behind me as I was reading it, and I JUMPED! I really did. So who was that in the house anyway?

    Sophie really should stick to being a writer. Although, maybe she’ll make herself useful in the investigation before this book is over, one way or another. Better yet, maybe Anatoly will prove Leah’s innocence so he can finally focus on a romance with Sophie. I like that idea.

Leave a Reply

