Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Sex, Murder and a Double Latte

This discussion is for the final segment of Sex, Murder and a Double Latte, chapters 14-21. Rather than list questions, I’ll make this short and sweet by leaving it open for your thoughts/insights/etc.

Also, suggestions for book #11 are most welcome!

9 Responses to Discussion #3 & Wrap-Up: Sex, Murder and a Double Latte

  1. I’m recommending that we go with Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights, also by Kyra Davis. Becca tells us it takes off right where this one left off, so why not?

  2. Becca says:

    I second that. It jumps right in with a very angry Anatoly. And an angry, pent up Anatoly is a force to beheld, me thinks! πŸ˜‰ And I actually stopped listening! Aren’t I a good little bookclub member!

  3. Becca says:

    And I am not giving anything away if you have finished the book.

  4. You’re fabulous, Becca! Think we can talk Gina into reading it, too?

  5. ginabeana says:

    yup, I think you can talk me into reading another Kyra Davis book. We should finish up the series

  6. @Gina – great! I’ll give you some time to get your copy, although I have to admit that I’m already on pg. 30. No worries. I’m not all that speedy.

    As for the ending, I was a little disappointed at how Sophie and her fellow felons entrapped Anatoly. But I guess having gone into the book already knowing that he was a PI and was most likely doing something investigation-related made me wary of any kind of guilt on his part. The bad thing about reading ahead in the series.

    Also disappointing was the vandalized car thing. Why in the world did Donato use that particular crime as an omen of pending death for the car owner? I just didn’t get the catch there. Did I miss something from Sophie’s novels or from the other crimes? It was strange to me.

    The Charlie’s Angels gangsta chick storm was fun, though. Dena and Marcus with the leather gloves, then later with the furry handcuffs – what a hoot! I pictured Farrah Fawcett, Jaclyn Smith and Kate Jackson back in the day… theme song and all as they went after the killer. As I show my age here. πŸ™‚

    But one question: Why oh WHY would a PI leave his apartment so easily accessible to intruders with the window open? That doesn’t quite jive with me. Oooh wait a minute… that must’ve been done by Donato who planted the hatchet under the bed and hoped it would be found, right?

    Great twists and turns – I really did enjoy this book despite the couple of disappointments. Not only that, but I’m STILL figuring out the nuances of it all. So now I’m really ready to move on with the next one.

  7. Becca says:

    And I didn’t give away a thing! πŸ˜‰ That was so hard! It was so good!

  8. ginabeana says:

    Brenda are you talking about how Sophie’s car was vandalized? If you are, I think that was alluding to the fact that the car vandalization thing happened in Sophie’s novel. It was another example of life imitading art thing. Or art imitading life.

    I liked how Donato sent Sophie the “you reap what you sow” threat. Perfect for a novelist conjuring up murder scenes. I thought that was a nice touch.

    I felt so bad that Anatoly was accused of rape!! How do you shake that off and forgive someone if you were Anatoly.

    For me, I didn’t like the hiding the hatchet thing. That to me was a lil weird. Maybe I should reread some of the last couple of chapters and see if I missed something.

    Overall, this novel was just so much fun to read. Much better than reading about the political scandal in my opinion.,

    I’m very interested in bridging the gap of Anatoly and Sophie’s relationship. We know how it ends, we know how it started…it will definetly will be intereting to read what happens in between!

  9. @Gina – Yes, the vandalized car. I didn’t pick up on references to that happening in Sophie’s novel, but it would make perfect sense if she’d written about it there and Donato was imitating it in real life.

    The snail mail threat really was good. A nice touch, I agree. Creepy, but yes.

    Anatoly is a total saint for even TALKING to Sophie after that wrongful accusation. Those kinds of things just don’t look good on a person’s public record. Yet, he seems to come around in the next novel. I want to see how that plays out.

    The hatchet thing just freaked me out. If I hadn’t already read the 3rd book, I might’ve thought he was guilty just because of it.

    Everything about this one was fun to read. As for bridging the gap of Anatoly and Sophie’s relationship, I couldn’t agree more. With that said, I’ll go ahead and post book #11’s release tomorrow. Can it be as good? I sure hope so… chances are really good IMHO!

Leave a Reply

