Discussion #2: Sex, Murder and a Double Latte

On with discussion up through chapter 13, readers! Again, let’s aim for no spoilers as we discuss what has happened until this point in our reading journey. This discussion thread will be open to all comments/ideas so… what might be yours right about now?

10 Responses to Discussion #2: Sex, Murder and a Double Latte

  1. ginabeana says:

    Ok, I got my book today, I plan on ripping into on the ride home and after my workout this evening. I hope to joining the discussion, very, very soon.

  2. Becca says:

    We can wait for Gina, can’t we Brenda? I think that she will love the book! 🙂

  3. No problem! I want to hear (read) Gina’s thoughts on this one – and she has a super long commute that will ensure she’ll finish in no time. But we’ll wait as long as necessary.

  4. ginabeana says:

    Ok, I am very pleased to announce that I am up to Chp. 10! I think that qualifies me to join in on the discussion, right? The first comment I want to make is…that there is a coffee ring “stain” on the back of my book. Obviously it is part of the art work, but when I first ripped open the Amazon box and saw it, I was like “!! They sent me a book with a STAIN ON IT?!” Then I got a closer look and was like…oh. its suppose to be there, lol. On the train, My Husband (Steve) saw the stain and was like “nice, job on the coffee stain”. I just replied, “yeah, my bad”. HA! Not that I would need to use my book as a coaster, because today I received, THE CHICKEN LIT BOOKCLUB tile! Verrrry niiiice! It looks great on my desk and it’s already serving its function quite beautiful! Thanks again Brenda and Becca!

    Ok, now on to the book!

    I am reallly enjoying this book. I think I will come out and say that I am enjoying this one even more than the last Kyra Davis book.

    There seems to be more humor, I love the spark between Anatoly and Sophie, too. They are very witty when they are together. I have no clue who the killer could be at this point. I thought Andy at first, but well…yeah, don’t think I’m right on that one. I don’t think it’s Dena’s boyfriend – too obvious. And It’s not Anatoly for obvious reasons. I don’t think I would have thought it was him even if we didn’t read out of sequence. I just don’t get that vibe. And Barbie’s ex – as classy as he is, I am really buying his excuse that he was just a witness to her demise. So, no guesses for me yet.

  5. Becca says:

    I am not telling…no spoilers… ;-), but sitting on my fingers waiting for you all to figure it out…but the sexual tension between Sophie and Anatoly…sigh…I really do need an image of this guy…sorry, I am a very visual creature, and big Russian guy just isn’t enough information for me! 😉

  6. ginabeana says:

    a big russian guy with big hands, haha! yea, seriously…bring on the visiual…you know for research purposes only. ahem.

  7. Guess what? After my 3 hour salon visit and long afternoon at the baseball stadium — I FINISHED THE BOOK. Wowzas. Never saw that one coming… but I’m so not going to spoil the ending. 🙂

    Back to Gina’s comments: The coffee ring stain! Funny, but I thought I’d inflicted it on my own book too. That is so hilarious. Love the way the publisher designs Kyra’s book covers, don’t you? (And so glad you received your tile so that you won’t need to rest your latte on top of your books! You are so welcome.)

    This one has so much more depth in many ways. From the character development & humor, to the detailed murder scenes, to the complex plotting – I really did enjoy this one much, much more than ODRDC. I was completely clueless as to the killer, which was another added bonus because it wasn’t a total giveaway to me.

    But Anatoly. Yes we need more physical description of that hunka man, don’t we? I’m just not groovin’ with the Big Russian thing, but Sophie must? Give us a visual PLEASE, Kyra?

  8. Becca says:

    And what is with all her descriptives of phallic symbols in relation to Anatoly? Does she only have one thing on her mind? 😉

  9. @Becca – That’s all well and good, to some extent… but I want to know more about other features such as what makes him such a hottie looks-wise? For research purposes, of course. Because we are studying this book and all.

  10. ginabeana says:

    Ok, I am all finished too, so we can gab away about the totally surprising ending! HELLO! Didn’t see that one coming!

Leave a Reply

