Discussion #3: Certain Girls

Home stretch, readers! If everyone is ready, let’s go ahead and open up the discussion for Part 3: Certain Girls of book #9. Our ‘free reign’ discussion method seemed to work well in discussion #2, so let’s go ahead and do the same with this final section. Tell us what made you stop and go hmmmmm… this time around.

Any thoughts or recommendations for the Chicken Lit’ers on book #10? You are welcome to post that here, too. We want at least 3 readers to join in with us, so let’s find something everyone will enjoy.

Oh and by the way, the prize winner for our free giveaway will be announced as soon as book #9 chatter winds down. Who will it be?

23 Responses to Discussion #3: Certain Girls

  1. Becca says:

    This third part of the book is by far the best part of the book.

    I cannot get over Joy taking that credit card, again, and this time going to California. That is ballsy. Where were the red flags with the airline? I know that this is a book, but she is a 13 year old with a white card? No questions? Can register at a swanky hotel in Beverly Hills? Have a driver? None of that really gets explained. But ok, I will go with that.

    Guess she got an eyeful and a wake up call with the real version and truth about grandpapa. Loser! Talk about his own version of a narcissitic drama all his own. Good riddance. And to be so mean. He deserves all the bad karma one seems to think is coming his way. Good thing the ex had a prenup! But he dumped another family, too.

    It was sad that Peter died that way, but it seemed like the vehicle that was necessary to bring mother/daughter back to where they had to be. I am surprised how quickly that came into being but then again that it life it does happen that quickly.

    Then the bat mitzvah and the baby boy, seems to bring the family full circle. I think that mother and daughter have realized what is important and that is each other and now the new baby.

  2. I agree that part 3 is the best. Shocking and fast moving, don’t you think? My favorite kind of ending to a great novel.

    Joy is smart – even I learned early that having mom’s credit card was key to getting big ticket items. (What? I was into Liz Claiborne back in the day, although I DID have her approval and never took her credit card.) But yes, I almost thought red flags were flying when Joy reserved her flight/hotel/car. You’d sure think White Card would look out for the customer’s best interests and follow up on questionable purchases. So I went with that one too, like you.

    Grandpa was only good for his silver dollars, and that was it. I’d hoped Joy would find a good coin collector and cash in on her earnings. Serves him right.

    Peter’s death came completely out of the blue to me – the author’s plan I guess. So, so sad. But then I thought… wow, what fate! Candace and Peter have a new life going on with the surrogate! How amazing that a baby would become of his death! Although, I wanted to cry every time Candace got all teary-eyed after his death, despite this fortunate turn of events. I cannot even imagine ever being in her position, nor do I want to.

    Full circle is right. Exactly the reason why I loved this book. Great job Jennifer Weiner!

  3. Becca says:

    Yes it was very fast paced, it went too fast. It would have been more fun to see Joy get some come uppance about her antics in California, but, I loved the book, or the audio version.

    You have a new request under books! Go take a peek!

  4. @Becca – I agree and would’ve liked more, but I really did enjoy this book anyway. One of the best I’ve read in awhile, actually.

    I took a peek and now must look into the book request… snippet is needed… B&N might have one for me! Aren’t new bookclub members great?

  5. Becca says:

    Is there anyone else coming to the discussion? I kind of thought that there would be more discussion. Or are we ready to think about moving on? I enjoyed this book, the ending was quite good.

  6. ginabeana says:

    Oook, thanks for your patience, I couldn’t get a minute to post a comment til now.

    Whew! What an emotional ending! I totally did not see that coming and felt like someone punched me in the stomach. But you could really see the book come full circle with the birth of a baby boy. If you remember, Part 1 started around Valentine’s Day when Joy received a cookie from Amanda. Almost one year later, Joy received a baby brother. Looking back, I really saw Joy grow. She continued volunteering at the Ronald McDonald House; befriending the girl (was her name Cara?) from the Ronald McDonald House. I think its important not to focus entirely on Joy’s behavior, but take notice of how she really started to mature into a women….right around the time of her Bat Mitvah.

    I’m glad Joy jetted off to California. That was the only way she could really find out about her grandfather first hand. She needed that, she needed to see that side of him, and she needed that one on one time with Candance on the flight back.

    The last chapter saw Joy grow up unbelievably! She knew a baby was coming on and started making to-do lists and turning into big sister mode. Quite impressive. For once, it wasn’t all about her, but about her family.

    Did you guys like her Bat Mitvah theme?

  7. @Becca – I was hoping for more discussion, too. But now we’ve got Gina’s GREAT comment and possibly Jenna soon? (Woohoo…? Jenna?)

    @Gina – Thank you for finding some time to post, as I know how your career keeps you super busy. ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s what I say to your comments: Agreed, agreed, agreed! Joy was like a butterfly that transformed right before our very eyes. And the Bat Mitzvah theme was perfectly perfect. How sweet to include something that would touch Candace’s heart after all of the emotional trauma she put her mother through.
    Amen, Joy girl.

  8. @All – Today will be the final day of discussion on ‘Certain Girls’, and the giveaway drawing will take place this afternoon. (I’ll have one of the CK’s draw.)

    Also, I’d like to post the selection for book #10 ASAP. We have one recommendation so far… any others?

  9. Anyone interested in Shoe Addicts Anonymous by Beth Harbison? It was recommended to me by Amazon, and I think it looks like a light, fun read… also recommended by Jennifer Weiner. (Comment on cover of book.)

  10. Becca says:

    I am up for anything! I can get it on Audible! Have I said lately that I love Audible!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Check out the author’s website: http://www.bethharbison.com/

    If you can get it on Audible, I say let’s go for Shoe Addicts Anonymous.

  12. Becca says:

    Consider it got! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It is Friday, don’t mind me, just multitasking this morning, what else is new!

  13. And mine should arrive on Monday, May 5th. I read part of the first chapter on Amazon and was hooked. BTW: I looked into the one Krystina suggested, but was a little skittish in reading about what happened to the girl. Maybe my first impression was wrong…? Anyway, I thought we could keep that one on the backburner for future reads.

  14. Becca says:

    That is fine, I did order it, and will read it and let you know what I think, though, if that is ok? I also have the other Kyra books on my IPod when/if we choose to read them, of I might just be listening to them on the beach for vacation this winter.

    Ok, no laughing? I also just bought Enchanted and 27 Dresses for my IPod. Am I a total geeky woman or what? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. That’s fine by me – if it’s good, then I’ll have to get a copy, too. Oh, and I also have the other Kyra books. (Shhh, but I started Sex, Murder and a Double Latte already. It’s a really good one. I just couldn’t wait.)

    No laughing here, especially since I’ve pre-ordered a book for every month through the summer! Guess that makes us both geeky book women. ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. Becca says:

    Mitch is swamped through the year this year and our vacation isnt coming for us until January 2009, but then we are going to be getting almost 3 weeks in Hawaii, since the in laws have a time share there. We are going to be doing two weeks on our own and a week with them. I think the hubs is going to need it. I think I should thank the economic stimulus package for buying our tickets, eh? Just doing our part for the economy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. ginabeana says:

    That book suggestion sounds fun. I’m going to go through my favorite book collection and make some suggestions for future use. I love Emily Giffin. I think she writes perfect books for a book club.

  18. ginabeana says:

    Oh Becca, you just reminded me to check if the stimulus pay day has hit my bank account, lol!

  19. Becca says:

    It hasn’t hit ours yet, we are May 16th! Goes by the last two digits of your social security number..and I I have a couple of Emily Giffin books, Something Blue, Baby Proof, Something Borrowed, and I preordered Love The One You’re With.

  20. @Becca – I’m hiding in your suitcase hitching a free trip to Hawaii. ๐Ÿ˜‰ How FUN!

    @gina & Becca – Funny but ‘Love the One You’re With’ is the pre-ordered book scheduled to ship to my house on May 15th. I can’t wait to read another Emily Giffin novel, she’s a top-notch writer.

    And thanks to both of you for the bank account reminder – we’ll be using ours in Las Vegas. ๐Ÿ˜€ Where will you be going, Gina? (Hawaii and Vegas will be thanking George later.)

  21. Becca says:

    Did you see that Jane Green has a new book coming out in June? “The Beach House”

  22. @Becca – That’s my June pre-order… yours too? We’ll never run out of material at this rate!

  23. Becca says:

    Yes! And I ordered “The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted: And Other Small Acts of Liberation” Elizabeth Berg to go with it.

Leave a Reply

