Final Discussion & Wrap-Up: The Ten Year Nap

Now’s the time for our final discussion of book #8: The Ten Year Nap. Wow. Did you like how Meg Wolitzer wrapped this one up? Do you have any unanswered questions that you’d like answered? What do you think the primary message Ms. Wolitzer is trying to relay with this novel? Do you agree/disagree with the underlying themes? Would you read more Wolitzer novels after this one?

Help me out, Chicken Lit’ers!

6 Responses to Final Discussion & Wrap-Up: The Ten Year Nap

  1. Becca says:

    I just got to this tonight, I do apologize. I have been scanning slides for my inlaws tonight. I will come and leave my thoughts in the morning. This exhausted wife is headed to bed!

  2. Becca says:

    I think that for me, the message that I took away from the book was to take nothing in your life for granted. And don’t look back and wonder so much at all the what if’s. The grass is not always greener in over someone else’s fence. Love what you have, because you really do not know how long you will have it. I think that came into play the minute the gentleman died in 14H. Mortality suddenly appeared in the book, and it started getting interwoen for all the characters in some form or fashion. I enjoyed the book once I was able to get into the minds of the characters more. It took awhile for me, but that is just me, it takes me a bit. But I do sometimes enjoy books that make me think. I would definitely read more of her work.

  3. As I was reading each character’s situation, I kept going back to the idea that success is finding what we love to do, and then doing it to the fullest extent. In doing so, the whole idea of work changes – work is play when we love doing it. Simply put, Nadia Comeneci had the theory figured out in her strong dedication to gymnastics and subsequent medals she earned as a result. She hints at the idea that unless what you do is envisioned as hard work by society as a whole, it is undervalued and not worthy of praise (e.g. Amy’s role as a SAHM.)

    Wolitzer gives us many perspectives on the work ethic throughout the book, all of which occurred across generations and in various countries, as if to show us how work changes and yet stays the same. Not only that, but she also alludes to how ‘who wears the pants in the family’ has evolved over time, with Amy’s father who wanted to be a stay at home parent while her mother worked outside of the home, back in a time when that was taboo. The thinking was there, but society wasn’t ready for that kind of reality until much later.

  4. P.S. I enjoyed listening to this book on audio while reading along – a new experience for me. Having the book to help me page back and reference events was nice. And even though the content was a step away from my usual not-so-serious selections, I’d still be open to reading more books by Meg Wolitzer. Her writing style drew me in right from the start!

  5. Becca says:

    I really did enjoy this book. It has given me a lot of food for thought.

    What did you think of listening to the audio version? Is it something that you would do again?

    Do we have new additions to the group for the next book? I have it on audio when you are ready! 🙂

  6. @Becca – I agree. My first audio, and I loved the fact that I could be more mobile and could multi-task with it. You might just have converted me!

    I’m going to work on my recruiting campaign over the weekend and see if we can get at least one more reader for our next bookclub read. The creative juices are flowing… 🙂

Leave a Reply

