Discussion #2: ODARDC

If you’re not already done with chapter 14 (through page 224), cover your eyes! Ok, really now. This post opens discussion #2 on book #7 – Obsession, Deceit and Really Dark Chocolate. Continue reading as we talk about the first 14 chapters.

One nagging question seems to be, “Where’s the really dark chocolate in this story?” So far, I’m not seeing the answer but I do welcome any suggestions on why chocolate is even mentioned in the title of this book. Perhaps Melanie took off and is eating her stash in a secret hideaway to escape from the depression she sunk into after Eugene’s murder? Or maybe Sophie is about to be lured away from the case by Darth Vader’s scrumptious gourmet chocolate bars? Otherwise, what other questions do you have at this point?

Discuss.

16 Responses to Discussion #2: ODARDC

  1. Becca says:

    I know what it is, but I can’t tell you…no spoilers! πŸ˜‰ I like really good dark chocolate! And we have Sees Candy here! This book is getting good! It is making a lot more sense, give it more time!

  2. Chocolate was a big draw in choosing this book. Can you tell it was a good choice? I can! Personally, I’m into Dove and Hershey’s kisses. But Sees Candy? We have those over at Nebraska Furniture Mart downtown. YUM.

    Now I’m really keeping my eyes out for the beach bag lady and chocolate.

  3. ginabeana says:

    Did someone say See’s chocolate! I looove See’s…so that cracked me up in the book.

    I’m a bit ahead…ok, finished. What?! I couldn’t help it, I went into work on Saturday so I had some train time. What was a girl to do! I won’t give anything away, so I will follow you guy’s (that’s New York speak) lead.

    For the record: Bag lady = fuuuuny.

  4. The bag lady – I’m there! And she’s talking about the pink furry bear. This book is so unputdownable.

  5. Becca says:

    Ok, so now I am so out of the dog house! I am on chapter 26!

  6. Becca says:

    That was a really good book! Did you know that she has three other books?

    Passion, Betrayal and Killer Highlights
    So Much For My Happy Ending
    Sex, Murder and a Double Latte

  7. I’m just finishing ch 16 and probably won’t have much reading time until late tomorrow after working on a client’s computer. Hang in there and dialogue w/me, k? Keep in mind that I actually have an ORIGINAL PINK RAINBOW CARE BEAR, which gives me special privileges. πŸ˜‰

    We should add those 3 other books to our reading list. Sophie Katz earned the right to be there with this one!

  8. ginabeana says:

    @ Brenda, you mean CUDDLY BEARS, right :o) HAHA! Love the avoidance of trademark infringement found in this book. Can you spot others??

  9. ginabeana says:

    …btw I’m craaaving chocolate and Starbucks, hmm…wonder why!

  10. Becca says:

    There was the reference to a cellphone….a very expensive cellphone, clothes that were expensive, especially a pair of shoes, think Manolo Bloniks (spelling)…

  11. Just about finished w/ch. 22 after a looooong day of consulting and web development for the nuns. Oh, how about those WEENIE BABIES? This trademark stuff is so right up your alley Gina! πŸ˜€

    Gotta say I’m more than a little freaked out by this whole furry-plushy thing going on. I do NOT want to know if this is a real thing. Call me Sophie. *eewwww*

  12. Becca says:

    I am scarred for life….oh dear …all things that are good in the world…wash my mouth out with soap,….and oh yeah Brenda….you chose this….remember that sweetheart, you chose this! πŸ˜‰

  13. @Becca – I will never look at stuffed animals the same again. Ever.

  14. ginabeana says:

    I know! And I am soooo not doing research to find out the validity either. Seems a lil over the top, though.

  15. Becca says:

    Ummm…I Googled it…sad…there is a Wikipedia article on it…don’t go there…please…I did…morbid curiousity…now I cannot look at my son’s Elmo doll the same way ever again! Ewww!

  16. @gina – Exactly. I’m staying in my bubble, thanks very much.

    @Becca – Read above comment about my β€˜bubble’. lalalalalala *covers ears & eyes*

Leave a Reply

